October 1st is a Big Day in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Weihai
October 5th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Downtown Weihai on October 1st 47 secs
Every year on October first the Peoples Republic of China celebrate the founding of modern China. I personally don't recommend going farther than walking distance from your home because the buses are packed to the gills.

Originally, that is what I told myself, but as usual my adventurous side got the best of me. I already recounted my encounter with the ice cube in a previous post, but I also wandered around downtown and had a good time with the locals. The place was hopping with activity. The area with the street food vendors was packed with tables and chairs everywhere. The walkway and streets were strewn with litter and some drunk tried to get me to drink with him, um...I don't think so.

I wish I would have taken more pictures. Anyway, I saved a video of a lady who was trying to draw some business to her jewelry store. I think my friend said she was trying to encourage the adults to get involved in some sort of raffle? The kids were excited though and they were fun to watch.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb