Another Trip to Tailor Row


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Weihai
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mmmmm...The Greens in ChinaMmmmm...The Greens in ChinaMmmmm...The Greens in China

I don't know what these greens are called, but they taste good! BTW- that plate of seafood isn't mine. My friend shoved it across the table so it would be in the picture.
This time on my weekly trek downtown, I met my friends. Unfortunately, I missed bus 31 as it was barreling down the main drag, just as I turned the corner. So I caught bus 110, which was a good thing as I didn't recognize my stop and wound up at The Small Commodities Market. At which point, I called my friend and she spoke to the kindly bus driver, who assured her that he would deliver me downtown in about 10 minutes time. He was very nice to me, he gave me a pouch of milk. That was kind of unexpected.

We went to our usual noodle hang out, but this time I skipped the noodles (I had bakery products for breakfast - that's enough wheat for one day as far as I'm concerned) and decided to get some delicious greens topped with fresh tomatoes and ginger, sans MSG, of coarse. Fortunately, this place gets my MSG allergy problem and they are always willing to accommodate my odd ball requests.

After lunch, we went to the second floor where the tailors are located. The senior tailor who said he could make me a bathrobe was there, so he found
Wahaha WaterWahaha WaterWahaha Water

By the time I got downtown and went to the tailors, I was so parched. I went to 4 different food stalls before I could find the brand of water I prefer.
my measurements in his little black bag and I picked out a deep purplish-burgundy fabric. At least, I think it was a deep purplish-burgundy color (I had my blue blocker glasses on.) It was a soft, fuzzy fabric, so it should be just fine for Winter. I also took three pair of pants to get altered at the busy tailor shop in the corner. They took my measurements, so I have high hopes that I will have some decent fitting pants next week when I pick them up.

Since we never seem to have enough blankets, I bought two soft cuddly blankets for 40 quai each. Last time I got the 30 quai blankets, which are fine, but a little on the thin side. These blankets are a little thicker. What I like about this lady, is that she always sells her blankets at a decent price, but there is no haggling. Period. I tried, believe me I tried, but she still has the best quality products for the best price and she has normal patterned products too, not the usual obnoxious floral stuff either. Cute stuff. Stuff that appeals to my western aesthetics. This time I got a
Vit-a-Mix Juice Stand Vit-a-Mix Juice Stand Vit-a-Mix Juice Stand

There is a little fruit juice stand that I go to every time I go downtown. You pick out 2 fruits and they juice it up in a Vita-a-Mix right before your eyes. This time I got a papaya and pineapple juice. Yummo!
lovely Autumn leaf pattern. It's a little busy, but I like it anyway.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Just Acting SillyJust Acting Silly
Just Acting Silly

My friend just went to the dentist and was in rare form, despite that fact.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb