The Little County of Pucheng


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi
May 12th 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

A Group FormingA Group FormingA Group Forming

This happens whenever we go to the town square
Our 1st real Chinese Home, Pucheng
I am so grateful we got placed in this town. Our school & town are great. We are the first westerners to live here; needless to say we are stared at as if we are colored purple, however we are also treated as celebrities. The school has provided us with 3 new computers (one PC, 2 laptops), mountain bikes, fancy cell phones and even house slippers! Everyone is welcoming and I can't lie: I love the attention!I am adjusting to rural life. Shanghai was so busy and I partied all the time, so this is a nice change of pace. I am only scheduled to teach 14 hrs a week, so I have plenty of free time. I am reading more, learning Chinese and taking Tai Chi lessons every day. I will post more specific blogs on Pucheng later- there is a lot to see and talk about. I love this place!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Welcome Fireworks!Welcome Fireworks!
Welcome Fireworks!

It's tradition! It scares away evil spirits.
We Have ArrivedWe Have Arrived
We Have Arrived

Before we even entered our new apartment, we had to follow Chinese customs and set off the fireworks.
All NoiseAll Noise
All Noise

Nothing to see, just hear. There is always somebody setting off fireworks. The noise is as ubiquitous as the ever-present dust.
Zhang's WifeZhang's Wife
Zhang's Wife

They are both English teachers.
I Share an Office With These LadiesI Share an Office With These Ladies
I Share an Office With These Ladies

They are incredibly welcoming and helpful. They think I am a good teacher too!
WWEWWE
WWE

This one is for you, Justin!
My Lovely StudentsMy Lovely Students
My Lovely Students

They are awesome!
Our FAO and AerialOur FAO and Aerial
Our FAO and Aerial

Mrs. Jo, the FAO (Foreign Affairs Officer), and Aerial (my best friend in Pucheng)
I Was Mesmorized by the FlamesI Was Mesmorized by the Flames
I Was Mesmorized by the Flames

Trash burns all day, everyday
The ViewThe View
The View

from our balcony
Our Apartment BuildingOur Apartment Building
Our Apartment Building

I think it is very nice
A Group FormingA Group Forming
A Group Forming

At first it was a bit intimidating because they completely surround us!
A Group FormingA Group Forming
A Group Forming

They just want to check us out, few say anything.
Our SchoolOur School
Our School

I will post a separate blog just on Yaoshan High School.


22nd May 2010
A Group Forming

I'm so glad you guys are our representatives! Your life looks fabulous ~ I wish I could visit tomorrow!. Let's g-chat and nail down dates for me to come. I think I'm procrastinating a little because I'm pretty afraid of the 24 hour plane ride -- tell me I'm silly and to get my ass over there!
22nd May 2010

I love your pictures
Thanks you Lindsey for doing this blog. It gives me more of a feel of what life is like for you. I am so proud of what you are doing with your life. I do miss you a bunch though.
22nd May 2010

Hey!!!
I am thrilled to hear from you! The pictures are great and I can't wait for more stories! We miss you guys. It looks like y'all are having an unbelievable adventure! Keep those cards and letters coming. Love love love!!!
23rd May 2010

Yes, yes, yes, come visit!!
Yes, lets video chat. I want to show you something I bought here that reminds me of you! Come come come! The flight is easy: you just sit, read, watch movies on your laptop, pop some sleeping pills and relax!
22nd June 2010

I love reading about this place!
Thanks for the pictures and the commentary. Glad to hear y'all are doing well. :-) xxoo.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb