Nantong China. My First Experiences Part 2.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu
May 6th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

When we walked into the classroom our Chinese classmates immediately started clapping for us. It was very nice but I was also very uncomfortable because i'm not used to that kind of thing. We all said hello and our group sat down in open seats. All the Chinese students were staring at us like we were some kind of foreign object, which we were. I have never been the minority somewhere so now I kind relate a bit to how one who is a minority might feel. Our proffesors were introduced to the class by Angela and then Dr. Featherman started talking. He discussed a few things and did a brief introduction then he told all the WSU students to come to the front of the class. He said we will be having two chinese students per 1 wsu student and that the Chinese students were going to choose. He asked that each chinese student find a chinese student of the oppoisite sex and pair up. Since there was not an even ratio some students were paired up with the same sex, mostly chinese girls. He then told us that they would pick what WSU student they wanted as their buddy. He told them to go for it and then all the chinese students got up and started picking us as their buddies. I was than approached by these two chinese students, one male, one female. They introduced themselves to me as I did to them and the female, whose name was Jia Lu (Yulanda was her english name), told me that her english wasn't very good and that she hoped that I could help with her english and that they would help me with my chinese. We then went and sat down together and started talking to eachother. The guys name was Qian Hong Hu (Frank). He knew a little more english than Jia Lu but both knew more english than I did Chinese which was nice. We started talking to eachother asking usual questions like what do you do for fun, how old are you, how big is your family, etc.. Class finished quickly and my chinese friends asked me if I'd like to go get lunch with them. I said of course and we headed over to the canting. wich is their cafeteria. They asked me what I wanted to eat but I had no idea so I told them whatever they were going to have. We ended up having this noodle soup which wasn't too bad. I was really bad at using chopstix so they tried to teach me how to use them. We finished lunch and we went back to my dorm where we met all the guys from WSU and all their chinese buddies.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb