The Ancient Gardens of Suzhou and Wuxi Buddhist Temple


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Wuxi » Suzhou
July 24th 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

House in the ancient gardenHouse in the ancient gardenHouse in the ancient garden

House in the Humble Administrators Garden
I'm writing this July 25th, Chinese time, because I was too tired last night to write it, but its from yesterday:

We had an awesome touring day yesterday. I woke up early and couldn't get back to sleep so I went down to find the hotel's gym. No one really spoke English but I could say enough for them to figure out what I wanted. I'm understanding more and more and more Chinese. We eat in the hotel restaurants a lot, because they're usually big, nice, and have enough room for all the guests. I met Jie's dad and he's really nice. So anyways, we always eat with about 5-8 people. Last night we ate in a hotel restaurant with friends of Jie's dad and I could understand a lot of the conversation, and sometimes when they talk about me haha. I'm picking it up pretty quickly. The only thing I'm still stuck on is reading the Chinese signs, advertisements, and businesses because you can't tell how to pronounce a word by seeing the character. You have to know the "pinyin" or the romanized pronunciation guide. So 龙 is said "Long" and means "dragon". There's no way to tell how
FishFishFish

the biggest carp I've ever seen!
to say it from the chinese character. But the speaking and listening is coming to me quickly.

I'm going to take a video of some of the driving here, because most people in the US would not believe me. It's unbelievable haha.

So the touring- we woke up and Jie said we were having a western style breakfast. Actually it was eastern but had bacon and fried eggs haha. After that Jie and I went to the Administrators Private Garden. Another ancient garden. Suzhou is known for all the ancient garden estates here. Some of them are really old too. They have people tend to the gardens to keep them looking nice for tourists. It was a really beautiful and relaxing place, with a couple different buildings/houses. The big plant in the main picture is called "o" and the root is delicious!

Here are some pictures and info on the ancient gardens Suzhou is known for:
http://www.china.org.cn/english/e-sz/index.htm

We were pretty tired after this (lack of sleep and working out). So we went back for lunch and met Jie's dad. After we ate we checked out and Jie's dad's driver drove us to Wuxi. It's about an
OOO

haha this is a plant that's root is used to make "o". It's delicious, one of my favorite things here
hour from Suzhou and it's on the way to Nanjing. It has a newly built Buddhist Temple attraction with an enormous Golden Palace and statue. We toured through the palace where you had to wear shoe covers, then saw a play/movie about Buddha. The palace was enormous, it must've cost 10's of millions at least. Everything was decorated and it looked beautiful I couldn't understand any of it because of the accent the narrator used, but I'm ok with that haha.

When we finished that we went to meet another of Jie's dad's friends and his wife. The man runs a tv station and his wife is one of the anchors. The man was really interested that I play drums because he majored in music at college. His wife spoke English really well so she's the first person I got to know. It's funny she said she only speaks a little English, but she understood everything I said. In America, people like to say, "oh I speak 3 languages" and then you find out they only know phrases. People outside the US are too modest about it.

This was probably the most exotic meal we had yet. We had a type of bamboo root, pork, shrimp, fish, snake soup, and a bunch of other things. The snake was actually pretty good.

An interesting thing Chinese people do is that they never take out the bones of a fish, even the small ones, so you have to find them yourself. Also, they bring out the whole fish, skin and all, just dead and chopped into slices. But they always leave the head.

After dinner we drove the rest of the way to Nanjing. I fell asleep in the car since it was a two hour drive. Now I stayed the night in a hotel about 5 minutes away from Jie's house. They said today can be a rest day if I want since I was so tired yesterday. But I slept well. I have to go get breakfast now in the hotel before it closes. I'll tell you how Nanjing is later 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Fan GongFan Gong
Fan Gong

Buddhism palace
Inside the PalaceInside the Palace
Inside the Palace

one of the main halls
Inside the PalaceInside the Palace
Inside the Palace

inside the great hall, frontal view
Inside the PalaceInside the Palace
Inside the Palace

One of the tapestries
Inside the PalaceInside the Palace
Inside the Palace

view of the ceiling.
Inside the PalaceInside the Palace
Inside the Palace

one of the statues up close


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb