2 more sleeps


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
July 11th 2017
Published: July 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Wall of BoxesWall of BoxesWall of Boxes

The packers are so fast to pack up all of your memories into cardboard boxes.
So......

The packers have packed and gone. 10am until 6pm of pure stress and relief that everything has been packed and was on its way to the new life.

But, I didn't recheck the cupboards....... big mistake. Left behind the printer and the pasta machine. The printing cartridges have gone but with no printer.

And the pasta machine that I so needed but never used, but I suppose I am moving to Italy so who needs a pasta machine? Right?

So a word of warning when you move.... check the cupboards, and then check them again.

A friend is moving right now, as I am writing and I have just sent her a messages saying just that. Check, check and recheck.

The following day I caught the fast train to Shanghai to bring the shipping list to the Italian Embassy so that the container can start its journey. The paper work went very smoothly and my Italian did the job perfectly.

Shopping time. Last minute shopping in the Fake Shanghai markets. Most of the things in the market you can buy on line on a Chinese site Taobao, but I didn't have time for
Box 28-BOOKSBox 28-BOOKSBox 28-BOOKS

My name is spelt wrong but in China no one has a name as long as this.
delivery and it's always fun most times but other times are just a little stressful. I walked out with lots of bits and pieces to start an idea that has been brewing in my little head for a few months. Lets get this move over and then I can focus.

Then payment of the container. After receiving the final quote I headed to the bank to transfer. The bank is always full of people and it's always a minimum one hour wait. There where lots of students inside and then I panic. I had to get this done today other wise my container would never leave. I asked the young man for his help. I was given a piece of paper with a number so I knew when it was my turn. I needed the paperwork to be written up in Chinese characters. There was no way I could possible do that even after 6 years of living here.

While we where concentrating on the paperwork my number was called. I handed the paperwork over. It had to be rewritten. I hadn't included my middle name. So the paperwork had to be done again. I handed it back.
Almost done.Almost done.Almost done.

Still smiling so I suppose it can't be all that bad.
This time the young man had written a character wrong. So he started again, made another mistake and then started again. We then handed it back. Perfect. Transaction complete and the money would be in the account within 2 hours. Perfect.

Another step closer.

2 MORE SLEEPS.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Off they go.Off they go.
Off they go.

Boxes being loaded. One step closer.


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb