Huhhot from above


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Inner Mongolia » Hohhot
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Smile...!Smile...!Smile...!

In the left background the new multi-purpose building being built opposite the main Weiduoli shopping centre.
Slight change of plans since my last blog;

The local buses from Hohhot to Erdos were comparitively expensive, so we decided not to go there.
I do hope to visit the Wusutu national forest park,located just north of the city though, so soon an update on that.
The biggest change in plans is our idea to visit the bordertown with Mongolia; Erenhot.
This is where the large dinosaur museum (a new one is being built right as we speak) is located which we wanted to visit...

Well, now we're not just going there, we're even going to visit Mongolia itself!
The visa apllication, which we did right here at the local Mongolian consulate, seemed at first to be a bit of a problem, not having a letter of invitation, but with the help of a good English speaking member of staff and 255 Yuan, we can pick the visas up in 2 days time! Our plan is to travel by train, seeing that the one airline flying this route (Aero Mongolia) is a tad on the expensive side, but we'll have to get some info on train times first...

Thanks to National Day, the 1st of October, we
The 'my residential area lookout'The 'my residential area lookout'The 'my residential area lookout'

Just on the left of my shoulder is the appartment where I've been living for the last 10 months
have 5 days for this plan so that should be enough to visit Ulaan Baator.
Hope it all works out fine, can't wait!! I'm going to travel again!!

Next week I'll be going back to Qinhuangdao for 2 days to a wedding party, were hopefully there'll be enough time to see the ocean, quite a rarity here in Hohhot. Looking forward to that too!

Today, visiting the Aero Mongolia office, which is housed in a large building, we decided to ride the elevator to the top floor, the 18th. There we discovered that we had an amazing view over the city, with my neighbourhood right in front of us!
Luckily I was carrying my camera around, so no better picture opportunity then right there.
Think I got some nice shots of the city in birds-eye view...

Hope to be back soon about my upcoming travels...!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

What a great view!What a great view!
What a great view!

The Jin Jiang hotel in the backgound,and Manduhai park in the back right corner.
Jao baoJao bao
Jao bao

Our little doggie that we've had to doggy-sit for 2 weeks.


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 23; qc: 96; dbt: 0.1017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb