Huhehaote


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Inner Mongolia » Hohhot
February 11th 2008
Published: February 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Enjoying my last days off, I decided to wander through Hohhot a bit. First took a taxi to the north, by pointing in the direction of the mountains. After getting out, it was still a long walk to the mountains, and even then I didn't manage to actually get to the foot of them.
After having been to Datong, I really appreciate this city now, It really is a beautiful city, modern, developed and especially at night when all the lights are on, it's a great pleasure to walk through the streets.
This last week, temperatures have finally gone up to ''bearable'' and I can't wait until spring really sets in.

Hohhot (Huhehaote) was founded in somewhere in the 16th century by a guy named Altan Khan (family of.......?), and is famous for the surrounding Mongolian grassland, for which many tourists visit the city in the summer.
In summer they organise the annual Naadam festival, with traditional music, wrestling and horse riding.
I definitely hope to be part of that, if work lets me, and I'll faithfully report on it on TB ofcourse.

Students from all over Inner Mongolia as well as the country itself, and even from surrounding provinces come to Hohhot to study,
colleges and universities here are quite famous. As can be read in the travelguide (I don't know how accurate this actually is), only 15 %!o(MISSING)f the population of Inner Mongolia is actually of Mongolian descent.
Apart from the other big city near us, Baotou, there is not a whole lot out there. Some smaller towns, which I hope to soon start visiting now temperatures go up, and a lot of grassland and desert.

Well, there's a little info about Inner Mongolia for you, I hope to soon come back with some more news and photo's of this city and its surroundings, if the weather lets me.

Zaijian!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Ginghis Khan on a horse.Ginghis Khan on a horse.
Ginghis Khan on a horse.

Statue in north Hohhot.
Temple detail.Temple detail.
Temple detail.

One wall of the temple was covered in glass cabinets, inside of each there is a volume of the Tanjur (all 108 copies of it) wrapped in silk at the DaZhaoSi - all in Tibetan.


9th March 2008

Little Bags
Hi, Johannes, We met through Inanna last month - but I didn't realise you had a blog until this morning. Those little bags in the glass cabinets are volumes of the Tanjur (all 108 copies of it) wrapped in silk at the DaZhaoSi - all in Tibetan. The weather's looking much nicer this week and I'm planning to try to go to the mountains. If you fancy coming along let me know.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb