Zhengzhou's Martyrs Cemetery


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Zhengzhou
December 5th 2010
Published: December 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

The weather is still really warm here considering we're now into December must of been touching 18 degrees today, not so warm at night though! So with the weather so nice we went to visit a cemetery on the southern outskirts of the city. Why visit a cemetery? Well we've been to a few places here now and we've never seen a cemetery, not like in a European city where seeing church graveyards and cemeteries is fairly normal. So I asked some of my students where the cemetery was, they thought I was being a bit wierd wanting to visit a cemetery, and they gave me an address. Google maps only showed this war cemetery so we went for a visit.

As ever stepping into the grounds and you're hit by peace and quiet. The chinese characters highlighted in red on the tombstones means martyr. I think they all died in the war gainst Japan.

All around the cemetery it looked like a war zone loads of buildings being demolished this city will be absolutely enormous in 5 years time.

Well I hope you all enjoy the photos and I'll post again soon

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb