Harbin to Vladivostok


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Heilongjiang
October 8th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Harbin to Suifenhi
6 oct
Had no difficulty purchasing the Ticket to Suinenhi, overnight $24, third class middle bunk. Slept much of the way; arrived about 8 am, station and ticket windows. Could not get a ticket; my Chinese must be getting worse. At the second travel agency met Lee, Jong, 25 born in V. is Chinese on Russian passport. He, I thought offered to let me travel with him for $35. Sounded like a good idea to me. Several taxi rides and lunch on him. I purchased my own Bus ticket, 14 hrs $10, plus another $10 on the Russian side. Cleared immigration/customs no problems, unless your the person behind the idiot who tried to clear customs with out his luggage. I had to go back and took cuts in line. The agent just looked at me like I was so stupid I could not be trying to pull anything and just sent me on with a terse "GO .. go". Enjoyed the visit with Jong. On arrival in Vladivostok at 9:00p he gave me some help with a cab, $12, in the gated security area. I wanted to settle up with Jong, he was having nothing to do with that; he had meant the trip was was going to cost $30. And flatly refused any offer of money ... thanked him profusely. Checked into Hotel V., $77/night. Modest, comfortable room with rfg. Had a draft beer $5 in lobby bar and went to bed.


Advertisement



19th October 2009

Hey David, you ought to be traveling with me...Laos last week, Cambodia this...hotels between $2.95 (included breakfast) and $6.00 per night! I complain when I have to spend $10 for an overnight bus trip! Oops, forgot, you e one of those rich Americans and Im just a non working volunteer. Keep treking, Lynda
27th October 2009

moscow $$$
even more expensive but will get my chance when I get to Viet Man... i hope

Tot: 0.383s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb