Shanghai to Harbin


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Heilongjiang » Harbin
October 5th 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oct 4, 2009
Up at 06:00 (for real Barbara), noodle breakfast $6. Several trips to the ticket windows, third class ticket to Harbin, 31 hrs $80. Does not leave until 9:00a. plenty to get organized. With ticket in hand this time cleared x-ray security and made it to my waiting room (think gate). After another conversation in Chinese (have I mentioned I don't speak any Chinese?) it appears I elected to use the porter pre-board option, $2, what a bargain. I showed me the ropes, and my carriage and my bunk. No one is allowed in the platform boarding area until the train is announced and you ticket is shown. Then all mayhem breaks loose, and you had better be fast as the passangers find there bunks, 3 high two stacks to the compartment 66 to the carriage. I had a middle bunk; the lower bunk is for compartment seating until the owner wants to lay down and there is still some seating going on. Cold food cart comes with drinks and snacks about every half hour; hot cart meals for $3 every hour. Dining car meal - good stuff $9. Arrive about 9:30 pm. Hotel is only one block a way...which direction? While clearing exit security, have to show you had a ticket to be in the restricted area; met Stephen, 24, a rail road employee, QA inspector in engine repair section, with excellent English skill. Asked him to point me in the right direction, he walked me to the hotel, $40/night. Small room but seemed larger because mirrors covered two walls. I didn't answer the phone. After diner, kabobs $9. Stephen and I agree to meet the next day for phone shopping at a three story, Dillard sized, phone mall. Quite and undertaking settled on a Levono $30 two band. Should not have been so cheap and gone to the quad band. Stephen checked out each of the features to be sure the clock, camera, calculator...and what not all worked properly... took about 45 minutes... had read that the Chinese are not much for internet shopping ... now I can see why... they are very hands on.. the phone is in Chinese with language set to English... not exactly ... suggest you bring you own quad band.. We had dinner at KFC, $11, no extra crispy. Stephen has some difficult choices. His railroad job offer high security, for life, but low wages; he is interested in opportunities in the private sector, no security but high wages. His parents want him to stay with the railroad. Liked Harbin... have to close ... be back later....

Advertisement



16th October 2009

What an adventure
I'm surprised you have made it to Irkusk! Sounds exciting. I guess Russian men like to be close. Noticed all pixs in Russia (I think) other person in photo has his arm around you. Did notice your wedding ring in clear site so you should be safe (I hope.). Barb
16th October 2009

super!
I REALLY enjoyed reading this. I would love to do a trip like this but not physically capable. What an adventure and thanks for taking time to share! Gerry
16th October 2009

Are you having fun yet?
Hi Dave, Just wanted to let you know we are getting your blogs. Sounds like quite an adventure! We are praying that you will run into Engllish-speaking people all along your way when you need them. Keep the blogs coming. All is well here except that Emma Lee is having severe health difficulties. John told us last night at council meeting that she was diagnosed a diabetic a couple of years of ago but has been ignoring it, and now it has caught up with her. Cheryl has now totally cleaned out the kitchen of all the bad stuff and is serving only good food, but her system isn used to it. She was taken to the ER with severe vomiting a couple of nights ago. I think she will be OK after this period of adjustment to normal food. Will keep you posted.
16th October 2009

Your adventures
David, It was great to see you and now to follow your adventures. Take care. Wanda
17th October 2009

FYI
Hi Dave, good hearing from you. Sounds like you are having a challenging trip. I am just going back to PA alone and have ogida. We are all set to go for Sunday. Pat Benke, Linda Karen and me. Rich wants to know what the weather is. Take care and enjoy.

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb