Part 2 Ice sculptures


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Heilongjiang » Harbin
December 29th 2012
Published: June 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 45.75, 126.65

The Ice Sculptures are over the river so we jumped into a taxi and 30 minute later we had arrived. We stopped at an intersection where they where still building some of the white snow sculptures. They where huge and it really was cold. There was a breeze and it really, really was freezing.This was the first time ii really was cold. I couldn't wait to get back into the taxi.
It was 3:30 when we arrived and we where one of the first groups in. The western Face always seems to work in these sort of places. It wasn't cheap but this is Harbin's main attraction and it was worth every bit of it.
The sculptures are amazing. They are so tall. It was getting dark very quick at about 4pm. As it got darker the lights come on slowly on all of the sculptures.
JUST ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL.
I have never seen anything so beautiful.



I only used my Iphone as my camera. I would take my hand out of my glove. Find the phone. Take about 3 photos and then the phone would shutdown from the cold. By that time my hand would be very cold and sore just like you had slammed it in a door. Very painfully cold. I had warmer packs in my shoes and another in my photo taking hand. They are the best. I couldn't really feel the ones in my shoes until you went inside and took your shoes off and thawed out. My TOES where freezing. There are lots of cafes all over the place that are nice and warm and serve hot drinks.

Thank god.

There are slides that the kids loved. There was one huge slide and they had to wait 20 minutes and it took 1 minute to complete. It went really fast. There was no way to slow yourself down. At the end of the slide there was a huge pile of snow and you just hit that.
Only in China..... OHS. What's that?
It was so Beautiful but it was sooooo, soooo, soooo COLD.
It really is a must to see and to experience the absolute Freezingness of Harbin.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb