Sightseeing in Hangzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
May 4th 2008
Published: May 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My interpreter, Judith had to be driven back to Shanghai with David, so he could return to the US.

I drove to Hangzhou from the Temple with Mr. Xu and his 17 year old son, Everest. Mrs Xu drove the other Audi with the other guests, including Jackie the tree Volunteer. Turns out He is in the same Yoga organization as mrs. Xu, so she invited him.

Many Chinese businessmen have two names, one Chinese given name, and one they created in English. This helps eliminate any confusion. (except for Mr. and Mrs Xu, I never knew their given names).

Everest already has his English name and is quickly learning English. He wants to go to an American University.
The three of us had a nice ride to Hangzhou, looking at the countryside, while Everest popped red bean gum into his and his father’s mouth. (No-I didn’t have any - red bean gum?, I draw the line at some things).

Anyway we went to my Hotel, and I met my new interpreter, Rose and my new driver, Simon.
Rose and Simon are very good friends, and her English isgood, but she is still learning. She has a two year old baby girl, and I said I would like to see her sometime.
We all went to dinner with Mr. and Mrs Xu and family. Dinner in China (Northeast area, at least) requires at least six to ten people to eat, because ten dishes are ordered, and everyone has some of each dish off each plate. This doesn’t work well with two people. Subsequently, dinner events are large. We had ten people almost every night here. If they don’t have at least ten, they call up some friends to join them.

I made plans with Rose and Simon to meet hem in the morning.
They arrived as planned: Simon, Rose, Rose’s Mother-in-law, and her baby. (I did say I wanted to see her, didn’t I?)
Anyway, we went to Xiopin Temple. Traffic was horrendous, but I enjoyed the ride. This place was away from the city. (1 hour away) They thought getting out of the city was best, and I thought it was a good idea.

The place, though, was a real tourist attraction. Many people were there, and to get to the pagoda you climbed 500 stairs and rang each bell from each Chinese dynasty. 3x on the way up, 1x on the way down. Lots of bell ringing.

The view was great, and the breeze was refreshing. Rose had her fortune told by a monk who went through a real ritual to get rid of some demons, I think. Gave me the heebee geebees. She felt better afterward, though. Charged her twenty Yuan. (@$3).

The big event, though was the statue coming out of the rock climbing wall. With thunderous music, and a Chinese narration, the statue of Guanyin. She “rises” out of the top of what looks like a rockclimbing wall. She is also known as the Chinese Bodhisattva of Compassion and she sprays holy water on the crowd who try very hard to get wet. (maybe because it was 90)

After that was the sidewalk Chinese acrobats (6 to 13 year olds) and the “strong Man” act who actually ended up pulling a SUV with a rope tied to his ear! I kid you not! (Don’t you just love China!)

Afterward, we went to drop off Mom-in-law and baby at their home. Mom-in-law invited me upstairs, but I didn’t understand, so when Rose told what she said later, I asked if I could visit her family at home.
Rose was thrilled. I thought she was going to fall down. This would really gain “kool” points with the neighborhood peeps (those dam nosybodies).

Simon was great also. Simon is the real “go-to” guy. Need a postcard? he will get it for you. Want some ice cream?, - "wham"- cone, ice cream, and sprinkles before you tell him what flavor. He actually yells at the merchants in Chinese. I think he says something like “This here white dude is an American, you lowly oafs, stand aside, I have to get him what he wants first!” And they listen to him! Strange.

Anyway, Back to the hotel for me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb