Sunday - Business Day?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
April 27th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was a Business day. Yeah, I know, It’s Sunday.

But do you think that stops anyone here from business and deals? Nope!

Today I met with Mr. Zhou and his engineer and production manager. We discussed some business, and we agreed on some changes to my original design, adding some features. It was very productive. A good part is that they will have a working copy within five days!

Then I went to another factory to discuss a comfortable seat for the kayak. We discussed material and fabric. Once again, we will have a working prototype in a few days.

That’s the way it is here in China. If you are lucky, like I am, to have a trustworthy contact with whom you have already done business, then your contact will do everything he/she can to make you feel comfortable. I have a driver, an interpreter and guide, and I feel well taken care of. But everyone tries to do business with you. They want and need it.

Both Judith, my interpreter and guide, and Xu Ming, the driver, have factory contacts and are always finding ways to “suggest” business with my company, including dreaming
Lunch timeLunch timeLunch time

- Pick your fish from the tank
up ideas like “How about a tent for your customers, can they use that?” or “How about waterproof shirt, so they won’t get wet?” All good ideas, but not for now.

These meetings went on all day. And yes, today is Sunday! I had good three meals and I feel fit.
I heard some wild stories on how westerners get sick because they are not careful. I don’t want to do that, so I am careful.

After the meetings, Judith took me on a tour of her fabric factory. She explained how the people from the country side come to work in the factory. As we toured, The conditions were not bad at all, and all the workers (yes it is Sunday) seemed very happy.

They were very curious about “the foreigner”. In fact, the manager of the factory asked if he could walk around the floor with me, even though he did not speak a word of English! This gave him great “face” to his workers. And they could not help but stare at me, like I was from a different universe! (hey wait - I am from a different universe - to them!)

Judith also explained to me that the factory provides homes and food for all of them. Communal eating and semi-communal living, segregated by sex, of course.

Next to the factory was a shallow pond with pearl oysters being aqua-farmed. I noticed that every piece of land had vegetable plots. No land went to waste. There are a lot of people to feed. There are a lot of people period!

Then we walked around West Lake, the major tourist attraction of Hangzhou, A beautiful serene location, one of the nicest in all of China. We ate at a restaurant there and we really enjoyed the food. Lots of vegetables and more vegetables and some beef and pork, which I declined. Everyone wanted to continue, but I wanted to crash at 9PM, so I went back to the Hotel.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Mr. Andy -Mr. Andy -
Mr. Andy -

Factory manager


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb