Monday - Mr Shrie


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
April 29th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

barge restaurantbarge restaurantbarge restaurant

Like the houseboat at Davis Park, only it floats! Fresh fish in cages - Pick your own Carp.
Monday morning - I went to vist the main headquarters of South Holding group, a conglomerate of factories. One thing about China, all factories belong to a "conglomerate" Hangzhou is the Fabric production capitol of the world. any of the factory business got there start in fabrics and extended to other things (like motors).

I met Mr. Shrie, or Mr. Kant (his other name). He is the boss, the big cheese, of a $100 billion conglomeration. Judith was the interpreter, and we discussed Chinese niceties, and he was very interested about living in the US and about politics, especially the upcoming elections (Hillary vs Obama Vs McCain) and the effect on relations with the Chinese Government. I told him I was not an expert, only in what I see in the media and my own observations. But he was genuinely interested in US living, rising costs of prices, and public sentiment toward the government. He recounted with how the Chinese were doing (angry about rising food prices, gas prices, etc.)

Anyway, he was helpful in suggesting that in the future we may introduce some clothing line to kayakers and paddlers on the water. He showed me some fabric that
Xi min and his girlfriendXi min and his girlfriendXi min and his girlfriend

He drove slower when she was in the car.
was breathable yet water resistant. I said that clothing was not my main business, but I would consider in the future. He was thrilled.

I was impressed with him, and I wish I could show a photo, but my camera broke. (No I wasn't taking a picyure of myself and it broke!) But for an important Chinese guy, he was very down to earth. He also looked like Buddha.

Anyway, for some reason he liked me (future orders?) and we all went out to dinner, but not before exploring the West Lake, a large lake at the edge of the city.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb