I Finally Did It...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I want to show Kirk all that I am learning here in China when he comes to check on things in March... I took some advice from my students, and bought a few cds by their collective favorite Chinese singer - a 30something man from Taiwan who goes by Jay Chou. I have spent hours listening to one song in particular and coaching myself through the lyrics.

A few of the Chinese English teachers talked me into KTVing (karaoke) with them yesterday night. I didn't quite feel 100% prepared to butcher their language in a small room with them (I was the only American, and felt severely under-represented)...so I brought the lyrics with me. They made me sing it 4 times before the KTV closed. We had a private room for 6 hours. I was serenaded by a few of the J2 teachers, and had an unofficial sing-off with the Music teacher.

I kicked butt at dice, learned a new game...which I am terrible at, had a few too many beers and had a wonderful time - making memories with my coworkers.

My next task will be to master the choreography for "Nobody" by the Wonder Girls so I can take the KTV experience one step farther.

Advertisement



24th January 2010

woo hoo
sounds like fun, clare. I am sure they were all mezmerized by your beautiful voice, and I can't wait to hear you sing it! Tonight we are hosting your folks here for dinner, grant and the girls will be here and grandma too. We are planning to eat about 4:30 early our time, but it is a school night, your folks need to wrap up a bunch of stuff, i am sure, too. how excited we all are for all of you! Perhaps after icecream we will give you a skype.. I have finally learned that they do this on wed. and sun.... sorry to miss you the last time around.... anyway, i am sure you are counting the days.... take care, and perhaps we will see you tonight on skype, you karoke girlie, you!!! love, aunt annie
5th February 2010

It's on...
...best pick your KTV spot wisely for the March visit. Hope you're enjoying your time off, Clare!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb