Gui Hua Cha


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
January 16th 2010
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

No one can tell me that I am not getting enough fiber in my Zhong Guo diet. I am nursing a steaming cup of Gui Hua Cha...which is the tea this beautiful city is famous for - Osmanthus Tea. I just inhaled a twig...although as it forced its way down my esophagus it felt more like an enormous branch.

I am still feeling my way around the art of tea-making. I have endless ingredients, although when it comes to making the perfect cup of tea, I am still a bit hopeless. I have jasmine flowers and osmanthus flowers, green tea leaves, those brown balls...whatever they are called, dried mandarin slices, jasmine-infused green tea leaves...osmanthus-infused green tea leaves. The list is endless. Well, that's not quite true. It ends with the osmanthus-infused green tea leaves. So far the only tea I have managed to make perfectly is the milk tea, which comes in meted-out packets.

A word of advice to you future CCEP-ers (or anyone planning on coming to China); a small pinch of dried tea leaves goes a long way. If you are content with staying inside on a chilly, blustery day - you can steep and re-steep the same tea leaves. Each successive cup will be a little less harsh, but that's a good thing in my mind.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb