Happy Turkey Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
November 28th 2009
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

The CulpritThe CulpritThe Culprit

The burner responsible for setting my scarf aflame.
On Thursday the boys and I celebrated Thanksgiving. Each person was responsible for bringing something to the table. I was asked to make green beans and bring a desert to share. I bought a truly awful Chinese cake...but that's really a side-note in my story.

The day started off well enough. I took my NEW SCOOTER out into Chinese traffic for the first time. It was scary, but I soldiered on and made it back in one piece. I bought the cake right after class ended around 5, then hurried home to make the green beans. I spent the better part of a half hour rinsing and preparing the beans, then I moved over to the stove top to start cooking. I lit the gas stove as I have dozens of times before...but this time there was a difference. I had not taken off my scarf since I had been in such a rush to start cooking. Aparently I got too close to the lit burner because I realized a moment later that large flames were leaping up from my chest. I freaked out, naturally, tore the scarf from around my neck and threw it to the ground...right next to
The VictimThe VictimThe Victim

The charred remains of my scarf after I put out the flames.
my plastic trashcan and ontop of a woven bamboo mat. CRAP!!!!!! I stomped out the last of the flames before anything else caught...but I pretty much ruined the scarf.

Dinner consisted of three buckets of KFC, mashed potatoes that we made from scratch, steamed vegetables, green beans, and corn on the cob that owen bought from a street vendor. There was also some chow fen (fried rice), peanuts, pickled cucumber with chili oil, and pickled cabage with chili oil...similar to kim chi.

We didn't get around to eating the cake I brought, but Jordan and I brought some American candy that our parents had sent us, (twizlers and kitkats)...so we got our serving of sugars in too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mashing the potatoesMashing the potatoes
Mashing the potatoes

Mashing the potatoes was a group effort, and it yielded some of the most delicious mashed potatoes I have ever tasted.
The HeismanThe Heisman
The Heisman

Before slicing up the loaf of sourdough, Jordan took the time to pose for a few photos.
Women shi laoshiWomen shi laoshi
Women shi laoshi

We couldn't fit the candle and inscense burner on the table...
The spreadThe spread
The spread

Phil, Steve, Jordan and Tyler enjoying dinner and admiring the feast.
Fatty fatty no friendsFatty fatty no friends
Fatty fatty no friends

While in the middle of saying something astute...Jordans chair broke in half. We all burst out laughing and for the remainder of dinner we commented on his weight problem.
Spoonfest 2009Spoonfest 2009
Spoonfest 2009

Imediately following dinner, a few of the guys unbuttoned their pants and went to lie down in Ry's bed. After all, it's not really Thanksgiving unless you eat too much and fall asleep early.
Spoonfest 2009Spoonfest 2009
Spoonfest 2009

Imediately following dinner, a few of the guys unbuttoned their pants and lied down on Ry's bed. After all, it's not really Thanksgiving unless you eat too much and fall asleep early.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb