Where has all the magic gone?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
October 17th 2006
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Celebrity SnapshotsCelebrity SnapshotsCelebrity Snapshots

English Corner at my friend Kirk and Steve's school. The height of my celebrity status. My face is screaming, "I love China!"
It was bound to happen. We learned about this in our training in Beijing. It is some stage in the acclimation process. I forget which one it is, which one accurately describes that you would rather be either laughing over sunday brunch, or shopping in a mall, vacuuming the family room floor, or anyplace, any place other than China. Maybe its the fact that I want to send a package home, but can't figure out where the post office is or how in the world to mail something. Or the food, which at one time was like an adventure feels like a groundhog's day....let me guess, will we have rice today?? I remember when I first arrived in China, and then for some time after, thinking that there was no where else I would rather be....I was content, and I am still for the most part. I didn't miss the traffic on the Dan Ryan Expressway or even shopping at Trader Joes. Everything was exciting. But now.....as the "hello" of my students grow predictable...and the white rice, is still just white. I want something more.

Here is what is good.... I bought a chair for my room, bringing my total
Snack time??Snack time??Snack time??

This is my grocery store snack aisle. Chicken feet....chicken feet...are you kidding me??
seat count to three (if you include my bunk bed as a seat) It's wicker and it twirls. Bootleg sex and the city, a little blurring, but still so good. A bit cooler weather, I mean I can finally wear longsleves at night. Classes being cancelled....today was a chinese test competition or something. I'm not even sure, but I started teaching and 2 mins. later, someone told me I didn't need to teach for the rest of the day. It was like christmas and I got the biggest present.

and who can't get acclimate to that kind of magic....


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Who doesn't love a man who can squat?Who doesn't love a man who can squat?
Who doesn't love a man who can squat?

An o' to common site...try it....I bet you couldn't do it...but everyone in china can. That's how people can tell me apart.
Where white skin is in.Where white skin is in.
Where white skin is in.

The whiter the better...finally, my pale skin is envied. No tanning salons here
Starbucks.....makes everything betterStarbucks.....makes everything better
Starbucks.....makes everything better

Because there are so few starbucks or maybe so few customers, the baristas in china are experts and make one damn good latte
Yep! that's the guy who gave me the big hair!Yep! that's the guy who gave me the big hair!
Yep! that's the guy who gave me the big hair!

I braved the hair salon the other day. Besides a few minutes of big hair, no one noticed. But I did get a nice back massage, and not one but two hair washings....who knew?
I don't know what to say....I don't know what to say....
I don't know what to say....

Next to mary's apartment....you never know...you just never know...what you will see?
Friday night lightsFriday night lights
Friday night lights

mary took this photo...she lives downtown in the big city. Nighttime in Shenzhen is better!
I just couldn't resistI just couldn't resist
I just couldn't resist

If this doesn't make you want to come to china, I don't know what will.


17th October 2006

I love the big hair!
20th October 2006

White rice does sound boring.....I see you as more of a pasta person. And, forget the chicken legs. No, it doesn't want me want to visit China.
23rd October 2006

Chicken Feet!
I'm dying to tell a "Why did the chicken cross the road' joke but my wit seems to be failing me....

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb