what i miss


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 18th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

missedmissedmissed

4 days in the Palmer Hotel, Chicago...such good times for the kiddies, mom, and dad
yesterday, i missed my students back in the chicago. It just felt like every class, every student, every chinese person was against me......obviously not really, but after having four classes and have to get a teacher every class to either come into my class and yell at the students or have a teacher remove a student, or have to take students who cut class to the office.....it was just tiring. I didn't come here to babysit....and yesterday I felt like a babysitter to an extremely large and very active and immensely annoying 8-month old baby. It just seemed like nothing I did in class was working like it had magically worked the past few weeks. After having 20 or so intro classees, I had to sit down and realize that something wasn't working. Either I was getting dry or the students had allready heard what they were going to be doing and the excitement was thrown out of the window. I knew that I need to make a change for today when more than one teacher told me that they heard I had a "rough day today." I realized what i miss about my old school.

I miss the music, being able to read the notes that were passed in class (that was always why I wanted to be a teacher....snooping), I miss being able to read that the computer has just told me i have lost the project i am having been working on for the last hour....here, I just lose it and some chinese character's pop up, I miss eating lunch with milissa and gossiping about the students, I miss the laughter that certian students could envoke of me, I miss teasing the students and them understanding what I am saying, I miss being able to yell at my student by myself, but most of all I miss the connection that could be made between a teacher and a student........who spoke the same language.

But today was better. No one needed to come to my class to do the hollaring for me, I had to make only 1 student stand in the corner, I was done at noon, and most importantly.....I laughed.

Advertisement



20th September 2006

Your ability to cope has always been your strength! Keep up the good work!
13th December 2006

we miss you too
happy birthday!! hope to see you before we leave for college and we miss you a lot. it looks like you're having fun. don't let those students get you mad - that's our job. hartwig sucks as a teacher and we really need you back (before we die)

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb