Lost and Found


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
April 24th 2011
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

delicious fooddelicious fooddelicious food

on a night out before I went to HK.
Sitting in the corner of my room, bleary eyed yet feeling content; I decide I feel inspired enough to write another blog. :-) This week has been somewhat different to the typical days in the life of a chinese person. The little girl's foot became inflamed so has had to see another docor in another hospital- and has spent a fews days in the hospital as a patient. So its been rather quiet in the house these days. Please don't worry though- she is going to be fine I'm sure :-)

I had the opportunity to meet many lovely people from all over the world this week- I greeted all the new au pairs who arrived to experience what I've experienced these past few months. We ate a lovely lunch (with my favourite Chinese dish- sizzling eggplant- OMG yumm!!!) and chatted for a few hours, sharing our experiences.

I also visited a Thanka art display in a beautiful museum here in Shenzhen. Thanka is a form of Tibetan art that depicts Buddhist Gods in an incredibly talented, beautiful and spiritual way. The reason I went to visit the museum is because I will soon be departing for Shangri-la in Yunnan to volunteer in a Thanka art academy/monestary, so I thought it might be wise to learn a little bit more about this art form before I go there. I wish I could've taken photos to show you, but they didn't allow cameras in the art gallery so you'll just have to rely on you're imaginations! <3

You know, I do feel really content. Not overly happy, or sad, or excited about anything in particular- but just simply content about the things I have now. Its a really good feeling. I don't think I often feel content at home in Auz, because I'm so busy worrying about a zillion things and hardly get a moment to myself to think and reflect just about life. I really think people need to do this once in a while- its really good for the soul. These next 3 weeks will go by fast I'm sure, and before you know it I will be reporting from Yunnan!

Today was easter and you know what? I realised this is the first easter I've spent away form home! It was rather strange. But I gave myself and the kids some kinder suprises today to
me me me

haha.
consolidate my loss of a chocolate binge fest, and they were extremely happy to be given some chocolate as you can imagine!

I'll probably blog again just before I leave to really reflect on my overall experience as an Au Pair in Shenzhen, but right now I'm just focusing on things that I want to do here before I leave, and leave my mark here, in a sense. 😊

Happy Easter!

PS- here's some random pictures. :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb