Real China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

My neighborhoodMy neighborhoodMy neighborhood

a bit fancier than "real China."
AKA Still Here, Part 2

After kicking myself for not having had my camera last week, I set out today to capture the neighborhood I described in my last entry. I started in my neck of the woods, worked my way into the next, and then the next neighborhood. It's hard to believe that they border each other because they are like night and day. My students live in both neighborhoods. Many are in the fancier one shown first. But I'm discovering more and more live in the ones that are farther away, "real China" as I call it.

So here are the photos. They speak for themselves. Enjoy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

My neighborhoodMy neighborhood
My neighborhood

I don't get the sculpture.
My neighborhoodMy neighborhood
My neighborhood

standard intersection
My neighborhoodMy neighborhood
My neighborhood

The middle window in the brown building is my room!
My neighborhoodMy neighborhood
My neighborhood

There's a lack of formal parking.
My neighborhoodMy neighborhood
My neighborhood

These are the two fattest dogs I've seen since leaving the US.
Ubiquitous Corner StandUbiquitous Corner Stand
Ubiquitous Corner Stand

They sell magazines, newspapers, drinks, cell phone minutes, cigarettes, and a lot of other little things.
Leaving my neighborhood.Leaving my neighborhood.
Leaving my neighborhood.

The old men are practicing calligraphy.
Leaving my neighborhood.Leaving my neighborhood.
Leaving my neighborhood.

Note the cobbler.
"Real China""Real China"
"Real China"

Flower shop, milk tea shop, and salon
"Real China""Real China"
"Real China"

I have no idea what the gold thing is, but it reminded me of a stupa.
"Real China""Real China"
"Real China"

Open air liquor store next to an empty store.
"Real China""Real China"
"Real China"

Mmmm, meat
The sewing standThe sewing stand
The sewing stand

I guess business is slow today because that's the daughter doing her homework.
Look closelyLook closely
Look closely

Notice all the outdoor kitchens
Roy's tea shopRoy's tea shop
Roy's tea shop

I like the cigarette sign next to it. I wonder what makes the cigarettes so special. And where can I get un-special ones?
Outdoor vendorsOutdoor vendors
Outdoor vendors

fish, chickens, ducks... but they're out of bunnies.


3rd April 2010

REAL China
The real-real China isn't in the cities but in the countryside where some 60% of the people still live, pretty much unchanged from centuries ago. We saw many peasants on subsistence farms along the Yangtze River when we were there a year ago.
3rd April 2010

yes and no
There are 2 real Chinas: the city and the country. This is the city version. I've already shown many photos of the country when I went to Yunnan and Sichuan last summer.
4th April 2010

This "Real China" has nothing on Bao'an! Come check out our village and your idea of real China in Shenzhen will be drastically changed. :)
5th April 2010

I believe it!
This is real China, Nanshan style :)

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb