Sightseeing Failure and Shopping Success


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Yuen Long
April 5th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post



I had a plan for today. Today is China's National Tomb Sweeping holiday, which means that while none of my student sweep anything, I have a day off. I decided to try and so some sightseeing in Hong Kong as well as a bit of shopping. My plan was simple enough: check out the old, 18th century walled villages by Yuen Long, maybe check out the view from Victoria Peak if it's not overcast like last time, and then try to find some black sandals and do some boot pricing.


I got to Yuen Long with no problems. I always take the bus from the Shenzhen border to Yuen Long, so it's on my way into the city. I followed my bible's advice (Lonely Planet, for those of you playing along at home) and took one of 2 buses... and then missed my stop. I was looking for a street, but apparently, I was supposed to get off at a school by the same name. I decided to take the bus all the way through the New Territories until I hit the metro.

The New Territories are north of the city and actually comprise most of Hong Kong. They're not glamorous, shiny, or new. They look like "real China" and have preserved a way of life. The newest buildings I saw were some 3 story houses that had just been built. Some people were out laying flowers on tombs. (Yes, there are tombs in the New Territories.) The area was lush and green. It was a peaceful and relaxing ride.


I got off at Tai Po and took the light rail into the city. I enjoyed my usual tuna melt and soup lunch before embarking on my next adventure. I walked along Victoria Harbor... just enough to realize I could barely see across it. So much for the Peak.


One of the shops I had written down for Doc Martens was in TST so I decided to check it out. The idea is that I can figure out if I really like them, what size I need, and then order them back in the US this summer. Prices are only listed online in USD and British pounds, no Asian currencies. I found the shop with a bit of difficulty since it was tucked away behind another shop boasting Docs but only having 3 pairs on display. I was nearly devastated until I wandered through the store and saw a HUGE DM window. I had arrived. (For those of you not aware, I am a huge fan of Doc Martens footwear. I got my first pair of boots in 1994 and still have them... plus a few more pairs.)

Of course, they didn't have my first choice (the cheaper ones in a different style than what I normally wear) but they did have my second choice; first choice was sold out. I guess that means I have good taste. The two guys working in the store were eager to assist me and gave me some of the best customer service I've had in a long time. "Size 39?" one asked. I laughed. "No, I have big feet. Size 42." I crossed my fingers and hoped he wouldn't tell me that didn't carry that size. "No problem," he said as he disappeared. He reappeared moments later with the boots. I could smell the leather. "Where are you from?" he asked excitedly.
"I'm from the US. I have Docs there, but none here. I can't normally find my size shoe in Shenzhen."
"I don't think they sell them on the mainland, do they?" he asked.
"Not that I've seen, except in the Uniqlo store windows, which doesn't do me a lot of good."
He nodded and the two of them laced the boots for me in record time. I tried them on. They felt so good. "My feet are so happy!" I said. The guys laughed.

Now, I'm stuck pondering a dilemma: should I get them or not. I did the math and they're a bit more expensive than in the US, but not as much as I'd predicted. But I hadn't wanted to necessarily spend the money this month. But I could save myself a lot of time. I might have trouble getting them later. Hmmm

I finally decided, as you may have guessed, to purchase my beloved boots. I did it for three reasons:
1. Including sales tax back in Arizona, the price is pretty darn close. Only about a $20 difference.
2. If I get them now, my handsome chauffeur doesn't have to take me shopping, possibly more than once. (For those of you playing along at home, yes, my handsome chauffeur is my dad.)
3. This way United Airlines can't lose them.

I left the store carrying a bag the size of a small child. I had a smile to match.


Next was the quest for black sandals. I own two pairs, which would be one pair too many if I was a man. Alert: I am not a man and I like shoes. One pair is black patent and shiny and therefore not good for everyday wear, the other pair is more like a hiking shoe and looks rather clunky and silly with skirts. I needed something in between that doesn't cost a fortune. After a bit of shuffling around town, I finally found a pair that I liked, was comfortable, and was in the right price range. No way am I paying $100 US for a pair of sandals! I ended up getting them at Marks and Spencer, a department store in the mid-range. They're not quite what I wanted, but they'll do nicely.


I had to kill some time while waiting for a friend, so I bought a book for $67 (less than 10 USD) and some Ben and Jerry's. Really, is there a better way to spend part of an afternoon? I only got one scoop this time, though: chocolate therapy.


I met my friend around 6 and we wandered, got lost, and then finally had Japanese food for dinner. I was pleased with my meal of rice, dried seaweed, raw salmon, and warm udon noodles in broth. It was delicious and a steal for only $80!


I headed back to the border while she disappeared into the night. On the bus ride back, I tallied up my bills and was pleased that I had not gone over budget for the day! Quite the opposite. I allow myself $400 a day including transportation, two meals, and extras. I had almost $100 left! Not too shabby. Upon arriving at the border, I saw the longest lines I've ever seen for people arriving in Hong Kong. They had to tape off areas by the buses because the lines were 4-5x longer than usual. I--on the other hand--breezed though both sides of customs in about ten minutes--record time! Then I climbed into one of the many cabs waiting for me (no line there, either) and my footwear and I arrived home within ten minutes, ready to sleep.








Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

In Times SquareIn Times Square
In Times Square

Think they're excited for the World Cup?
New friends!New friends!
New friends!

A mutual friend put us in contact with one another.
My New BeautiesMy New Beauties
My New Beauties

14 eyes (mid-calf) and two zippers on each boot, making them easy to take on and off.


5th April 2010

Shopping success?? Yep, that's my kid!
7th April 2010

Interesting to see some pics of the New Territories, as we haven't really seen that area except on buses/light-rail. Sounds like it was a successful trip (shoes!), especially the quick border crossing. :)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb