School NYE celebration


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 31st 2009
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Every year my school takes the afternoon off and everyone performs. The teachers and students sing, do skits, magic, and dance. Everyone watches and cheers.

I performed with the English teachers. We gave a Chinese version of the Nativity scene (complete with dancing) and sang Silent Night. The Chinese translation only changed the lyrics to "Round your virgin, mother and child," which wasn't too bad, but it did make me giggle.

Also included was the text for the story since most Chinese are not familiar with it. It was translated from Chinese back into English. Here is the English:
The Nativity Story :
In Nazareth, a town oppressed by the devastating taxation practices of King Herod, a teenage girl, Mary, is told by her parents that they have arranged for her to marry Joseph. Distraught by the idea of marrying a man she hardly knows, Mary takes refuge in a grove to collect her thoughts. There, she is visited by an angel, who tells her that she has been chosen by God to bear his son. Despite the public scorn from an unwed pregnancy, together, Mary and Joseph travel to Bethlehem for a census mandated by the King. It
part of my 7th grade fan clubpart of my 7th grade fan clubpart of my 7th grade fan club

Me walking by them created so much excitement you'd have thought I was Michael Jackon.
is here, with a great celestial event revealing his prophecy, in a history-defining event, that Jesus is born.

When I first read it (ok, and the second time, too) I couldn't stop laughing. I had to explain, while attempted to quote the Bible story I remember from long ago, how the wording and language was quite different. Luckily, they understood that it was very different. Two very different ways to tell the same story. It's China, I'm used to it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Getting ReadyGetting Ready
Getting Ready

Don't we look pious.
me and Anthonyme and Anthony
me and Anthony

He made a fine, dancing shepherd.
Retelling of the revolutionRetelling of the revolution
Retelling of the revolution

Down with the oppressive landlords!
Our MagicianOur Magician
Our Magician

He was really good and entertaining.
Yep, you're seeing thatYep, you're seeing that
Yep, you're seeing that

only in China would they carry an electronic keyboard on a bicycle.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb