Around the neighbourhood ...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
November 13th 2009
Published: November 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Across the street ...Across the street ...Across the street ...

No need to explain what this is?
Sorry if I haven't been updating my blog as often as I should've been ...

It's a bit of a double-edge sword with regards to taking the video camera out or not. If you take it out, you're instantly on the crosshairs as being a tourist; if you don't, they don't know (at least I thought they didn't). I was at a 7-11 buying some OJ and the cashier switched from Mandarin to Cantonese ... she said I didn't look like a local. What gave it away? Darn.

BTW, even the monks are pushy here. I was walking on Jiefang Rd. and one grabbed my wrist to get me to take a red envelope (this is not the kind you want to receive from a monk on the street). I refused and kept walking. For you backpackers ... "My Little Hut Hostel" is on Jiefang Rd.

I went over to the MixC Mall yesterday (Thursday). Talk about being under-dressed! That's how I felt. I say 90% of the people were dressed as if they're going to a social gathering. This is not the place where you'll see any beggars or migrants except outside this mall. There's lots of migrant workers trying to make a living the best they can. On the street where my hotel is I saw & counted 3 of them (and it's a small street). They usually choose a tree, for the shade from the sun, and setup shop on the spot. As for beggars, they are a little more inconspicuous ... on pedestrian crossing bridges or under railway pedestrian passes.

Food-wise, no incidents to report. I must have an iron stomach or the prescriptions I took prior to leaving for China must be kicking in.

I was planning to take side trips into Guangzhou & Kaiping, but I think I might just stay put in Shenzhen for now and plan that for another trip. There are still a few places in Shenzhen I'd like to visit like Overseas Chinese Town (华侨城), and Windows of the World, etc.

That's it for now .... it's about 1:20AM Saturday!

P.S. - I added a picture taken from my hotel room. As a safety precaution the windows only open max. of 100 mm!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb