A few things.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, it's November 3rd already? Time is flying. We've been in China for three months now. That's probably the longest either of us have gone without seeing familiar faces. I think there might have been one time in college where I didn't see my parents for close to six months, but I still saw friends on a daily basis. Luckily, my parents are coming in just a month...we are so ready to see some familiarity and show people around town, especially now that our mandarin is improving and we know our way around a bit!

I'm sick. My first cold since JULY, which is crazy for me. Most of you know my immune system sucks horribly, and I get sick all the time. Well, maybe there's something to this whole Chinese medicine/way of life thing. I'm even treating it like a Chinese person, by drinking lots of tea and eating raw garlic. Awful breath, but Martin still loves me. I got some laughs out of my class earlier today by whining that they needed to stop talking so I didn't have to yell over them- I told them I was sick and it would make me sad if I had to yell. They laughed, apologized and got quiet. I love Chinese kids.

I told Martin the other day that if we survive this year of marriage, I'm pretty confident we can survive almost anything life throws at us. We're together practically 24/7 in an unfamiliar territory, having to speak a new language and constantly dealing with new things on a last minute basis. And we're doing great. Everyone knows I'm not the most patient person, but Martin has calmed me down considerably over these last few years and our relationship is doing just as good as ever here. It's definitely weird to share a tiny living space, work at the same job, have the same office and be together ALL THE TIME, but it's working for us. I'm sure it helps that we've been able to make friends here...without that, we might go a little crazy, so we're very thankful for them.

Last night we judged another speech contest. The 3 winners will go onto compete in the district. We were asked to ask each contestant one question about their speech after they were done, in order to make them think on their feet and answer in English. It was hard for us, and very nervewracking for the students. Then we handed out certificates, were taught how to say some of their Chinese names and posed for pictures. Oh, China.

We're still working on updating the blog with information from our trip, so look for back-blogs being published soon. And someday, pictures...our internet connection at the school isn't good enough to upload to Travelblog. Feel free to check out our new blipfoto blog at blipfoto.com/gooseandgander. We try to post one picture there a day, and will still upload to Flickr. Miss and love you all!



Advertisement



3rd November 2009

mwah
I'm so happy that your folks will soon be there with you both to smile, hug and kiss you and share China with you. Know that we come along in spirit and send hugs packed along with them. It's also the longest without seeing Martin for us too and now we have two kids to miss!! But we are so thrilled you are having this amazing adventure together and knowing you are growing stonger together only makes me smile more. From my heart to yours, love mama C

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb