I can speak your language if you give me your money


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 26th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Who said English was widely spoken?!?! "only if I can take your money" the wiseman said; because so far, no one has been able to speak English to me unless they wanted to do exactly that. This is by no means a problem I just didn't expect it, that's all (the non English speaking, that is). I thought at least the Hotel Staff could speak a few words or the tourist information attendant! Such a vast cultural difference from Hong Kong City a mere 45 min train ride and you're on another planet. If the Hong Kongers didn't speak English they were smart enough to decipher the sign language.
So far since arriving in Shenzhen I have had a ATM claim it dispensed AUD$500 when it didn't, walked through a road traffic tunnel furnished with a traffic jam to get to the other side was about to be put into a smoking room, when I specifically requested not to have a smoking room. So now I am waiting in the hotel restaurant and sipping on a Coke Zero to try and wash down the grease trap I just attempted to eat. I recommend eating street food or dining in those little holes in the wall with the cook in the window. Much tastier.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb