I got up at 7am... FOR SPORTS!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

3 Flags3 Flags3 Flags

School Flag, National Flag, Olympic/Sports Day Flag
Yes, you read that correctly. For those of you who don't know me, sports are not my thing. I don't really watch them (except the Olympics), and I certainly don't play them. I have as much athletic ability as a brick.

So, when my school informed me that I would not be teaching Thursday or Friday because of sports days, I was a bit mystified. We don't have any such thing in the US. Heck, parents would probably get upset if regular classes were cancelled to play sports all day. But here, everyone plays sports. Tall, short, heavy, thin, you play. They do exercises in the AM before classes, have PE everyday, and play sports between classes (there's a 10mn break between each class, and students run for the table tennis, while others play badmitton or hacky-sak.); this is a sports centered culture. I think this is one of the many reasons people here are so thin!

I had been told yesterday by Anthony that there would be an opening ceremony and I asked when. "8 am." Roy assured me that even though I had shown interest, and said I would come, I really wasn't obligated to. Last night I looked at the shirt they had given me--it was Y230. This is not a t-shirt, this is a nice polo shirt and it's not cheap. Everyone had been given one. Also, it dawned on me that it had not been delievered in traditional Chinese fashion, "Maybe you can come and watch the Opening Ceremony tomorrow?" "Maybe," means you should, but they're trying to be polite and not make you feel awkward or sound bossy. So when there was no, "maybe," one of two things had to be the case:
1. I am being told to be there and they want there to be no confusion.
2. It doesn't matter at all.
Between, guilt, curiousity, and a sense of obligation to the kids I decided to attend.

It's a good thing I did.

Anthony called at about 7:50. I was already down on the field. I think this pleased him. I didn't know where to go at first, and was then pointed toward the big table. On the stage. With the red "velvet" tablecloth. Next to the podium. To the seat with my name placard in front of it.

Two student speakers were looking over their speeches. They both asked for help with a few of the words (like 'civilization', for example). Two teachers were talking/arguing about something and I asked the students what was happening. The boy explained they were talking about "the ...gold..." while he gestured putting a medal on someone. The boy aplogized that his English wasn't very good. I pointed out that I understood him well enough to answer him and he beamed.

The hour-long ceremony was pretty elaborate. The middle school I attended as a kid would have never have done something like this. Actually, I'm not sure if we as students could have pulled it off, either.

First, the kids marched in (good ol' military training at its finest). The first group carried the National Flag. The second group had the Olympic/Sports Day Flag. The third group had the School Flag. Then came kids with 3 big wooden placards that I can't read. Then there's the band and the flag twirlers. I felt pretty proud when I recognized many of my students with these important jobs.

After that, every class marched up to our table, turned to us (there were 10 of us, the administration, some big-wigs (probably with The Party), Roy, and me), and did a sports performance that including chanting, props, and in many cases, confetti. There are 36 classes. I was apparently supposed to grade them all, but no one told me that, and I couldn't read the sheet in front of me. I could have asked, I suppose, but I was too busy having fun enjoying the performances and taking pictures.

After all the classes performed, they lined up on the field and the loudspeakers piped in the National Anthem followed by the school song.

Then the two students gave speeches, then the Principal (Iris), and then the Vice Principal, Joe. I was introduced and gestured to while I stood up quickly (I have no idea what they said--I stood when I heard my name). Roy was introduced. A few big-wigs were introduced. (So maybe 5 of us at the table were introduced?)

Then we were all dismissed, and the teachers got together for one big group photo in our matching shirts. The school photographer took a few shots while students snuck in and took some too.
Then two male teachers wanted pictures with me. I'm pretty sure they were the
Flag CarriersFlag CarriersFlag Carriers

They didn't twirl them.
same two from the Teachers' Day Banquet.

Then Roy and I snuck off since we weren't needed for the day. I went up to the rooftop garden to take pictures of the action below. I returned a few more times throughout the day (the last time being for over 2 hours) and managed to catch some races.

And to think I almost didn't get up at 7am this morning.




Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

7th Graders7th Graders
7th Graders

Their performance included a Tae Kwon Do demonstration
9th Graders9th Graders
9th Graders

They made those 2 sided squares in class yesterday... But they still managed to participate!
Roy and MeRoy and Me
Roy and Me

The yellow 2 person logo on the shirt is the brand logo, and is very popular in China.
They all have their chairsThey all have their chairs
They all have their chairs

One row of desks per class, to separate things
Winners get flowers presented by pretty girlsWinners get flowers presented by pretty girls
Winners get flowers presented by pretty girls

For photo purposes only; the photos get reused for each awarding.
Overhead viewOverhead view
Overhead view

Note the sun umbrellas. It's about 90 degrees and sunny.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb