The Return of the Museum Walk


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
June 24th 2014
Published: July 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

I dusted of the museum walk whilst looking around The Mausoleum of The Nanyue King.

First though an exhibition of ceramic pillows, which really look like a form of torture. Different designs were made and some were thought to influence dreams. How anyone got to sleep with their head on one of these I'll never know let alone dream.

On to the tomb. A cousin of the Emperor was sent south in around 200BC to quell a rebellion. The cousin liked it so much that he stayed and made his own kingdom and called himself an Emperor.

There's a splendid jade funeral suit, one of which I've also seen in Zhengzhou. His concubines were buried as a sacrifice along with some servants too. I'm not sure if these people were just buried alive or what happened.

There's a lot of jade, jade suit, rings, beads ,jewels as the ancient Chinese believed it preserved the body. As you can see from the pile of crumbs one of the concubines left behind it doesn't work.

In the afternoon I visited a lovely park and an orchid garden where I had orchid tea.

I've enjoyed Guangzhou city, although must admit not keen on the food, it's a really busy city with lots to see and do and people everywhere.

I'm sure that on my journey back from Hainan I will stay here again

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb