Labor Day Holiday


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
May 3rd 2013
Published: May 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

May 1 is International Labor Day, which means no school! My first year in China the 1st was on a Friday and we only got the one day off while everyone grumbled that it used to be a week. Ditto for 2010 and 2011. Last year we had three days off, Mon-Wed, making up the two extra days the previous weekend. This year, though, we were off for five days, April 29--May 3, and made up work both the weekend before and the weekend after. (We worked 7 days, had 5 off, and then worked 7 more. Which, in my opinion, completely negates the purpose of a holiday because everyone is too tired to enjoy it.) Most schools and businesses only had Mon-Wed off. We most likely had more time consecutively because some of our students live several hours away and wanted to visit their families. Unlike our last holiday in April, I opted to stick around GZ this time.


Monday, I slept. And I lounged. And I did nothing productive at all. And by Tuesday I was still tired but feeling better.


Tuesday I went into the city to meet a friend for lunch and an afternoon of fun. We met and went to a German restaurant with a beer garden. It was cloudy but still quite nice out. Just as our beers and breadbasket were served, the sky suddenly got really dark. It happened so fast, it was like something out of a movie. Our server swore and nearly smacked into an umbrella running out to us. We were encouraged to move inside and we agreed. Within minutes of settling in to our window-side table, the skies opened and it poured. We enjoyed watching people scuttle about while we stayed dry in a cozy room.


After our lunch we traveled to Ersha Island. My friend knew of a new exhibit, "Towards Modernity: 300 years of British Art," at the Guangdong Museum of Art and we decided to check it out. Four rooms were filled with works by British artists and hundreds of Chinese people blatantly disregarding the "no cameras" signs while guards sat by and did nothing. It's hard to really enjoy art when there's always someone trying to move in and snap a photo of the painting. The exhibit was wonderful, a feast for the eyes.

We went upstairs, too, and looked at Chinese paintings and prints from 1966-1976. It was interesting to see the art depicting life in that time. Or what life was supposed to be like in that time.We took a stroll along the Pearl River, avoiding people on tandem bikes and children in motorized mini-cars. (I now have a much better understanding why my parents wouldn't get me one as a kid. Terror on wheels!) The weather was perfect and the sky was blue. It was a nice ending to a lovely day. We walked back to the metro while wishing we were hungry since all the restaurants in Zhujiang New Town looked enticing.


Wednesday I lounged at home again, trying to be productive, but unmotivated. I AM on holiday afterall. A friend and I made dinner together. I brought over the veggies, Thai curry powder (I got it in Bangkok last summer), and coconut milk. Her son went to work washing and chopping while she and I caught up over tea. Delicious food and great conversation always make for a nice night.


Thursday was another busy day and the chilliest of the week. A friend I'd met in Xi'an last October flew down to Guangdong from NE China for the holiday. I met her around 10am and took her on a tour of Haizhu Square. It's an older part of the city and much more interesting than a shiny shopping mall. We ducked down little alleys and meandered down winding roads, snapping photos along the way. We stopped for some sesame bread that was like the bread we ate in Xi'an. The baker and his wife obliged us by giving some fresh, warm ones. They were just a little sweet and heavenly.

We then took the metro up to the Chen Clan Academy. It was the one place my friend wanted to see on her visit. I've only been once and was happy to go again. It was as beautiful and peaceful as I remembered. My friend was able to explain to me what some of the artwork meant, which I was grateful for since there are no signs.

We had a nice pizza lunch and then made a quick stop to view the Canton Tower. It's one of the most famous landmarks in the city--and one people seem to be quite proud of--so I decided it was a necessary stop. (I'm getting pretty good at this tour guide business.)

We did a bit of shopping and had some coffee and relaxed. I left around 7pm to catch my bus home and she went to meet her friend (who was working all day). It was a long but wonderful day.

Friday was another day to relax. Knowing I had to teach all day on Saturday just made me want to lay low. I just puttered around and tried to make a dent in my to-do list. I was successful in knocking off the easy things, but none of the big projects.

So, yes, I didn't go anywhere out of town, but I still had a lovely holiday and probably saved quite a bit of money at the same time. I call that a win.


Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Art from the Cultural Revolution EraArt from the Cultural Revolution Era
Art from the Cultural Revolution Era

I have yet to see a deer in China.


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb