Hi Ho, Hi Ho, to the Village Hospital I Go


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
June 28th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's been a few years since I've needed to visit the doctor in China, for which I am thankful. I have nothing against Chinese hospitals, I just don't like going to the doctor anywhere for any reason.

While my job does provide health insurance, like many I have chosen to purchase my own. I think I get a better policy with better coverage and I like feeling secure. Often, insurance offered through work is only good in the city you live in, so if I traveled in China and fell ill, I wouldn't be covered. I don't get sick often, but if I do, I don't want empty my bank account or have to borrow from friends. A former Peizheng student works for an insurance company and sells insurance to a number of the foreign teachers. I remember debating about it two years ago, not wanting to spend the money on something I might not need, but my friends pointed out that the year before one teacher had broken a leg and another needed and emergency appendectomy. Between that and remembering my need for a CT scan a few years ago (for headaches that it turns out were caused by my neck muscles needing to relax), it wasn't a hard sell. That was all the persuation I needed and I bought a policy with minimal questions or fuss for around 140 USD a year. My insurance agent even said that if I ever need help with something medical to call him and he could even help over the phone. I love how guanxi (relationships) makes such a diffence in this country!

A few weeks ago I developed a deep cough and could feel phlegm moving in my lungs. I considered going to the hospital, but I wanted to avoid the needles that come with the almost guaranteed IV bag, the time waiting for the IV bag, etc. So I bought antibiotics at the local pharmacy instead and started to feel better. But, after two weeks I still didn't feel normal and decided a trip was in order. I secretly hoped that they would tell me I was okay and not to worry.

A trip to the doctor is different from in the US. In the US, you either make an appointment at a local doctor's office and go then, or you go to the ER or Urgent Care and wait for a long time. Then, after filling out a pile of paperwork, you see a doctor for about 5-10 minutes before they rush off to help the next patient. Then you pay your $10-20 co-pay and let them bill the insurance company for the rest. And just as you've forgotten the whole thing, a bill arrives in the mail and you realize you owe a small fortune to your insurance company. While living in the US, I once had a bad cough and felt miserable, so I went to the Urgent Care. They ran a bunch of tests and concluded that there was nothing they could give me, I would just have to go home and rest, drink fluids, etc for a few days. Depsite working for a major bank with seeingly good health insurance, I still ended up paying $300+ for the visit.

After that, I like Chinese hospitals. In my experiences in clinics, big hospitals, and now the village hospital, I've received about the same level of care. First, there are no separate doctors' offices; all doctors are in hospitals, as are most dentists. Here, you walk in, buy a booklet to use for your medical records (or bring one you already have) for about 50 cents. Then you go down the hall and put your book on a pile and wait. Sometimes they make you take a number.

Then the doctor looks at you (yes, a real doctor, not a medical assistant of any kind) and in my cases they've always spent more than 15 minutes examining me and asking questions. I've found the doctors here do know a lot of English names for medicines, which is a big help--I have no desire to try and translate "amoxycillin". It's a bit strange having other people standing around while this happens, but there just isn't the space or notion of privacy needed for private rooms. All of this happens in your normal clothes, too, no flimsy paper gowns.

After the exam, the doctor writes down some medicines you'll need for your IV bag, and maybe a prescription for an X-ray, depending on the problem. Then you go down the hall to pay for it in full before you receive the treatment. Total cost for my X-ray and blood work was aobut $12 USD. They give you a receipt for your records and you're on your way. In the village hospital, the doctor actually took me around to the different places, rather than making me find them on my own. In the city, I was lucky to have someone help me with this too.

After going upstairs to the X-ray room, I waited about five minutes for them to develop my X-ray. I looked around a bit (it wasn't very busy on a Wednesday) and decided the X-ray room in the village hospital reminded me of something out of a Cold War movie. The room was dark and bleak, and the tech shuts a metal door when he goes into the room to push the machine button. The machine had lots of dials and made me think of something I would have seen in a movie about 1980's Russia. After we got my X-ray, the doctor led me back downstairs to the area they take and test your blood. I got those results in about five minutes, too. Then, back to the room that is, for some odd reason, labeled "Pediatric Department."

He looked at my films, noticed some stuff in my lungs, gave me a prescriptions, and said I'd need to come back for five days. Not my idea of fun, but if it gets the job done... I paid for my prescriptions ($18 USD) and went across the hall to get them filled. They gave me a bag of Chinese medicines with directions clearly written (if you know the characters for 'day' and 'times'😉 and down the hall I went to the IV room.

After two minutes they called my name, which has now become Susan (because they don't know how to prononunce my last name). They did a test of the medicine to make sure I wasn't allergic to it (I'm allergic to several antibiotics) and checked me 20 minutes later. Success! Less than five minutes later I was called to a small wooden table where they swabbed my hand and painlessly stuck a needle in my hand. Then I carried my IV bag back to my slightly padded lounge chair to read for an hour and a half.

I was told to come back the next day to the same room and they'd give me a prescription for the medicine then.

I returned on Thursday with a student as a translator. (Godfrey's Chinese, while good, isn't quite as good as hers.) There was no wait, which was nice. Godfrey had been right in guessing the village hospital would be less busy than going into town. They asked me several questions, most of which made me happy I'd brought my student with me. There's no way I would have understood them. Most doctors speak English to some degree, but with medicine it's always best to be certain. He asked if I felt better than the day before and told me that if I wasn't feeling better in a day to let them know so they could change my medication. He listened to my lungs and looked at my throat, wrote down information in my book, and sent us on our way. Chinese doctors' handwriting is like US doctors' in that it's impossible for a mere mortal to read it. It actually reminds me of ancient script on a scroll I'd seen in a museum.

We paid for my IV medicines ($12 USD) and repeated the procedure as the day before.

Day three of five went about the same. It was a Friday and a holiday, so there was actually a wait. I saw the same doctor as on Wednesday, which made me happy because he's really friendly and chatty. When Godfrey and I saw him on Wed, he talked about how he loves to play tennis. This time he talked about how his son had just passed a very difficult English exam and how proud he was. (Many of my students can't pass the exam, so I was quite impressed.) He gave me some additional medicine with alcohol in it, but only after making sure I wasn't allergic to alcohol (many Asians are). He said from what I'm telling him (I'm coughing more than a few days ago, but otherwise I'm fine) that it seems the medicine is working and that my lung infection isn't serious. Having a student along to translate that was worth so much for my peace of mind. He said the new medicine would add a good strong punch. I'm up to three IV bags, now, but if it works, it's fine by me.

I went back today for the last time. They took more x-rays, listened to my lungs, and did blood work. I have been given a clean bill of health and a pile of medicine to keep taking for a while longer. I hope I can get it through customs in a few days.

Total cost for 6 days of doctors visits, x-rays, IV's, and take-home medicines: 858.90 RMB, or 135 USD.

After all of this, I'll meet with my insurance agent in person or perhaps express mail him everything. I suspect this is something special for the teachers at our school, but it's really nice to know things are being handled quickly. I just need to give him my receipts, medical book, X-rays, and proof that the doctor said something was wrong. Here, you keep your own medical records, not the hospital. I suspect it cuts down on costs. I'll get money back in a few months. Right after I've nearly forgotten about all of this.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb