Halloween???


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
October 31st 2011
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Devil Wears PradaThe Devil Wears PradaThe Devil Wears Prada

You can't see it here, but I am carrying my "Prada" bag.
Halloween at Peizheng this year was not quite as fun or organized as last year. For me, there's certainly a correlation. This year parties were on both Friday and Saturday nights and none of them had very good advertising. The only one with good advertising was one put on by a student organization. As we were out for the night, we saw a few signs here and there promoting parties for the next night... but there was no way I was going to take the time and energy to put on all my make-up a second time.

We started out at the student organization party and within minutes of arriving I was anxious to leave. It was wall to wall people who didn't treat the costumed foreigners as people, but rather I felt like I was a tourist attraction. One minute I'm being grabbed and having a flash go off in my face, the next, a friend of the first student says, "Oh, I want one now, too," while the flash goes off again and you see the line forming while they look ready to pounce. No, sorry, I'm not about to spend my entire evening taking photos with each and every student. I wanted to have fun! So we left.

We went and got a bite to eat before heading to a partyless bar to recover from the student party. Then it was on to another party where another foreign teacher was DJing. The students were having a great time and were really respectful of us. But instead of dancing to the music, they were playing musical chairs and screaming. Time to go.

We went to two more partyless bars and did manage to have a good time. But I must say, this goes on record as being the most unfestive Halloween I've experienced.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

See all these students?See all these students?
See all these students?

This is half of them at the most. And they all want to take photos with us.
Bank RobberBank Robber
Bank Robber

None of the training videos I ever watched had the robber carrying bamboo.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb