My day in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
July 23rd 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

On the way from Hong Kong to China an hour ferry ride
I arrived into Hong Kong yesterday morning after a long 9 hour overnight flight on Cathay Pacific. Upon arrival I arranged a transfer to pick me up and take me to the Eaton Hotel, even though I'm not staying there, but it was the easiest way to get a taxi to Heritage Horizon Suites where I met up with John and Carmi. The big news of the day was the fact that Hong Kong had an approaching typhoon warning 3, but it wasn't raining so we just past it off and after a well deserved snooze we went out to shop!!!
I experienced the MTR underground metro network and boy did I feel lost, I hate catching trains in Sydney, so I had no idea what I was doing here - lucky for Carmi who showed me how it was done, which was all very simple stupid. I shouldnt really be blogging Hong Kong atm since all I did was buy peeptoe shoes, cargo pants and a top for AUD$60 and yes we got caught out in the rain, torrential rain infact lol - we got absoutely drenched!!!!!
So today I had to get up extra extra early to get my
IPhoneIPhoneIPhone

Love the network...
ass back to the Eaton Hotel to join a group to China. The tour started at 6.30am and we didn't get back until 9pm - soooooo long and tiring!
We started off by catching a 50min ferry from Hong Kong to Shekou, which is the first economic zone of China. Clearing customs we met our tourguide for the day "Amy" who provided us much information of the history of the region and taking us to the Exhibition Hall, where we had a private tour of a display of Qin Dynasty Terracotta Warriors and Horses originally unearthed from Xian, Jade bracelets and monuments which either give health, wealth or luck to those who wear it, plus many wall paintings and moonstones. The next room we walked into we were bombarded by sales people, fuck you think it's annoying in China Town, Sydney when they bombard you with "cheap cheap, do you like this", but these guys follow you and follow you and continuely follow you, until you cave in and buy some bracelets - like what I ended up doing! lol
Next stop was a 2 hour drive in crazy traffic but very green and pictureque views to Guangzhou which is
P1000786P1000786P1000786

This craps me up! You can tell that the Chinese are bad drivers, that they need this mirror to stay withi the lines
formally known as Canton, which is the capital of the Guangdong province. We went to the Zoo aka "the Safari Park" to see the the Chinese Panda, who at first just laid there like a lazy big shit, but eventually got up and showed off - funny how the Panda walks exactly like the Chinese lol no offence, but it's the truth! Anyways after that we drove some more and stopped for lunch at a traditional Chinese restaurant which was est in the1880s. Now what a feast we had, some stuff I've never seen before plus the biggest Spring Rolls ever!!! Now talk about intimidation, outside I walked around a bit and it's like Chinese people have never seen a westerner before..they just kept staring, following, staring and followed some more, it began to really freak me out! But the best part of my day came where we went on a walking tour through the markets as this felt like the "real China". You name it, it was there to sell... fruit, veges, spices, loofas, live chickens, birds, turtles, scorpions, toads and snakes...all for eating? I dont know but they say that the people of Canton are much more open then those from other parts of China of what to eat, they practically eat anything and everything...hmmm so our suspicions could be true about eating dogs then... even though I didn't see any "for sale' at the markets.
Next stop was another arts shop, to get us to buy some more authentic Chinese porcelain, paintings etc but I just got a magnet lol I need to add it to my collection! Then we went to the Memorial Hall of Dr. Sun Yat Sen and lastly a Buddist Temple to see the Octagonal Building which leans like the leaning tower of Pisa.
After clearing customs we jumped onto the Express 2 hour train back to Kowloon Station and that was the day - phew!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

ScorpionsScorpions
Scorpions

You can only eat about 10 a day as they are highly poisonous
P1000814P1000814
P1000814

This lady hand paints delicate porcelin


24th July 2010

Awsome
Sounds great Bec,and dont worry about the bad stuff its all part of the experience otherwise people would be better off staying in thier home country-eg: about the cheap cheap selling etc. Sounds fun,been there and when reading it I miss it, Anyway keep up the happy travels and blog. More adventure is just arounf the corner. :-)

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb