Out and about in Xiamen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
December 1st 2006
Published: December 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

And so we reach December. Time really is flying by, it's hard to believe I've already been in China for almost four months.

As I said in my last update I had a week off a while back because of the students' mid-term exams. Hannah, one of the other ELAs from Hangzhou, came down to stay with Alison (another of the ELAs) in Xiamen for a few days so I used it as an excuse to get out and do some of the touristy stuff in Xiamen itself.

We went to Gulang Yu, a small ex-colonial island which is only a five minute ferry ride from Xiamen. The island itself is beautiful. It's completely pedestrianised and full of old colonial style buildings. Unfortunately when we were there the weather wasn't spectacular, grey and drizzle, rather British I suppose. But we spent a good while wandering around and visiting the piano museums. I'm definitely going to have to head back over to Gulang Yu when the weather is a little better to get the best out of it. There's still loads I haven't seen.

We also visited the local temple in Xiamen, Nanputuo. It's quite an impressive complex which backs on to the mountains that make up part of the island. Apparently if you climb all the way to the top you can get into the botanical gardens through the temple grounds, maybe if I'm feeling particularly athletic some day. For now I'll let the photos do the talking.

We also paid a visit to Scotland, not the country but our local Scottish themed pub where all the staff are clad head to toe in tartan. Not to be missed - especially when they set fire to the bar during the Christmas party in November!

Thanks again to Alison for letting me steal some of her photos.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb