Centenary celebrations etc


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
November 9th 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First off I'd like to apologise for not updating sooner. I realise that it's been a while since I last posted. I've been kept fairly busy with my daily routine and haven't really been doing anything exciting with my time.

A few weeks ago my school celebrated it's 100th anniversary. It's the oldest school in the region and there were a number of events to celebrate. So I dragged myself out of bed early on Saturday (28th Oct) morning and went to watch the main celebrations.

The day started with an hour and a half of speeches and at this point I was seriously regretting not staying in bed. After the speeches were over the celebrations really started. There were seriously impressive dance performances, song recitals and martial arts displays. All in all good fun.

I was sat far too far back to take any decent photos so I'd like to thank my colleagues for providing the photos for this entry. More photos can be found here. There are about 5 pages of photos, scroll down and click on the link at the bottom to get to the next page. There's a photo of me being interviewed by some of my students in there somewhere too.

I've got this week (13th-17th Nov) off as the kids have mid-term exams so my classes have been cancelled. I don't have any major plans, thought I'd relax a little, try and get over this little cold I've got at the moment. If you were wondering the weather here is starting to get a little cooler, it's starting to dip below 20 degrees C - I've started wearing jumpers this week, the first time since I've been in China.

I won't leave it as long till my next update.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



23rd November 2006

Amazing photos
Spent some time browsing through the pages, did not find the one of you being interviewed but not all of them seemed to load. Must have been a spectacular day. Your picture of retired teachers dancing seems incredible at first, but then perhaps not so strange given we watched a TV programme 'Young@Heart about an American pensioners choir performing pop songs last night! Hope you enjoyed your break from teaching and have shaken off your cold. Take care!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb