Xiamen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen » Jimei
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I had planned to keep this blog up to date on a daily basis, unfortunately the computers in the place I'm staying run at a snails pace and therefore its rather difficult to sometimes even get online!

I've arrived safely in Xiamen! The train journey wasn't as bad as I had expected and to be honest it passed pretty quickly!

I actually met a couple of Chinese guys before I even got on the train who worked in Xiamen so they were able to give me the low down on the place! They were desperate to practice their English as I was also keen to practice my Chinese!

The living conditions on the train were pretty cramped and it was very very loud at night! Obviously I was sleeping directly opposite an older man who snored through the night!

They warned me about the dangers of travelling alone in China and that I should be very careful if I go to Guangzhou. They did however follow this with a "but its okay you are very STRONG" I've lived in China long enough to know that "strong" in Chinese is another word to say you are a little on the fat side!

I didn't have any trouble finding the hostel and was pleased to find because it's the low season that I actually have a whole four bed dorm to myself and this seems to be the case tonight too!

Today (Wednesday) I managed go to the train station and buy my ticket onto my next destination, the dangerous Guangzhou!!!!!!! I was pretty impressed I managed to do this as the train station was complete madness, a real case of every man for himself! But I pushed where I had to, stood my ground where I had to and managed through my limited Mandarin to buy the ticket I needed! A pat on the back for me!

The rest of the day was spent visiting a local temple, the name has already escaped me and onto the beautiful and peaceful Xiamen University. After that I hit the small yet lovely beach!

Well I seem to have been on my feet for what seems 12 or so hours so I'm off for a well earned rest!

Until later.......




Advertisement



28th February 2008

GuangZhou
Hey Paul, wish you a safe time in Guangzhou. What people talked about is true that GZ is much less safer than SH, esp in the railway station area. I lived in that city for 2 years. Tianhe area is nice however. Oh, you can try a tour on the Pearl River , bit similiar to our Huangpu river. Stay well there:) You know you can always ask for help from our Web Guangzhou. hehhe....
4th March 2008

The temple Pual said is Southern Putuo Temple
Hi! Pual. I'm Leo. I am glad to see your travel blog. The temple Pual you said is Southern Putuo Temple. The temple where the Bodhisattva Guanyin was mainly worshiped is one of my favorite temples. The style of temple is quite different from other temples in China. You can talk with monks and know a lot knowledge about Buddhism. I will keep on seeing your blog and share your travel experience. Bon voyage!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb