STREET


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei
April 17th 2015
Published: April 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

One of the best things about my body clock being so messed up is waking up at the crack of dawn and strolling the early morning farmers' market a couple blocks from my apt. I'm living a dream of the best of both worlds - a few blocks the other way is the famous 5 story mall monstrosity, Wan Da Plaza with too many western stores from Sephora to Starbucks. I'm not certain how I feel about westernization... a time or two I've indulged the familiar I confess.



But to do that's absolutely NOT why I'm here.



Early morning farmers' market delights my soul. The people and their wares are beautiful!!! And they don't mind one bit when I photograph them. They're happy for the attention and me, too.

I love this gorgeous mule pulled cart of strawberries. The old wooden carved yoke harness reminded me of Grandpa Johnson's hand carved yokes.



I even discovered a couple grilling cornbread that would make my Grandma proud. Who knew north China loves corn bread, too?!!!

This same lady makes fried egg and green onion savory pies every morning; they sell for about 14 cents a piece. My Mama Shadburn used to make the exact same sort of fried pies for breakfast. Often she would also fry little apple pies. Talk about delicious on a cold morning. I wonder if there is a connect between the people of Dongbei China and the Cherokee of North Georgia? I keep finding signs... we're not so different is the thing.

I visited the rural mts recently and saw more and more signs of rural north Georgia. More on that consideration in a later post.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb