Nails and Promises


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
July 8th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting here next to Shina and Russell. Shina's cutting Russell's nails. We're all on the couch watching Taken (an American TV Miniseries). It's a really awesome show. And the nails just seem to add to the crazy affect of the whole thing. Everyone here is in some sort of couple. Craig has a Chinese girl (not yet girlfriend but really close), and Cat has an African-American boyfriend.

There was a promise made to me. He practically screamed it at me. I asked him at least 8 times whether or not he could cut Cat's hair this Friday or Saturday. He said yes every time. "Yes! Of course I can. Not a problem." Tonight I called them at like 7:30pm. Camillo didn't answer his phone. I called the Salon and Hui told me that Camillo was cutting hair and she couldn't even ask him a question for me. I called back at 8 and still nothing but then he called me back. "Can you cut her hair?" "We've got a meeting tonight. I'm sorry, I can't." I didn't really say anything but I was a bit upset. "Okay." After some time Cat called and we talked about her getting another appointment and possibly having to go to another shop. I apologized for trying to get her an appointment and failing. After I talked to her I called Camillo back and told him I was angry at him for breaking his promise to me. As usual he did what Camillo always does - he got angry at me and said that he had never made the promise and that he could do it tomorrow. I couldn't really respond so he got angry at me and hung up. I got another call a little while later "She's going to come get her hair done tomorrow. I just talked to her ... well, say something." "What am I supposed to say Camillo?" I was upset. I hate the fact that because we're friends it means that our place at the barbershop isn't as important as the customers. If a regular customer were to make an appointment everything would be fine and it wouldn't be broken. But since I made the appointment of course it doesn't really matter. It just upsets me. I don't even know how to understand it right now. I'm just going to go back to watch my movie The Island and get ready to teach my two classes tomorrow (the other two are having tests - thankfully).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb