"Kissed" and Made up


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well Camillo and I finally did what needed to be done. We "kissed" and made up (or at least as much as Camillo kisses - which is not). On Tuesday I went over to the Salon after going to the gym. Michael did my hair, Kast asked me where I'd been (he thought I'd gone somewhere since he hadn't seen me in a few days) and Camillo asked me to come over after my class so I went and taught Lucy, had dinner and then came back to see him. After a while I finally got him alone.

"What were you trying to ask me today?" I had called around 2pm and asked him if he wanted me to help him or not - if he said no or I don't know then I wasn't going to help him get the interview that day, after all I was tired of him pushing me around, of course he said "I don't have time for this".

"It's not important. I'm just tired of trying to help you and not getting any response. "I'm helping you get the Visa. It's not for me. I don't need one. I can't do this alone."

"Everyone's been telling me it's not possible to get a Visa."

"Me too, so what do you want to do, give up? I can do that, that's easy. I've given up, next!" Then I calmed down and said "all I can do is try. That is if you still want me to."

"You know I do."

"Okay now if you want me to help you stop being angry at me!"

He apologized and said he had been really busy lately and had not had time to answer my questions.

"Camillo, I don't care if you have time to answer my questions but still be nice to me. After all I'm trying to help you!"

He laughed in an "I realize I was being a little shit" way and apologized again. Then he asked me if there was anything he could do and finally started working with me again. We went to the internet bar to get the I-134 form printed out (a form for me to support him if he ever needed food stamps or something of the sort while in the US). Then we went to get some midnight brunch. I told him about July 4th and we celebrated a little bit. It was nice to have him back.

Yesterday again I worked all day. In the morning I was detained from going to the Rockies meeting by our landlord who insisted I stay while they do some checks on our water. When he was finally done I walked down towards school and ran into Russell coming back from the meeting. So I decided to go to lunch at the new barbecue place behind our apartment complex. When I was almost finished eating two Russians came in to order some food. They had a little debate over where to sit and then when they were starting to order the woman came over to me and said in a very cheery Russian something to the effect of "Are you Russian?" When I didn't respond her face fell a little bit and she asked me "Can you speak English?" Then the two of them got me to help them order some food as they couldn't speak Chinese and could see that I had already ordered and was alone. It was very obvious to me that they weren't quite as thrilled to have an English speaker help them as they would have been had I been Russian - which was an interesting concept.

At eight pm after class went over to the Salon. The boys insisted I get my hair done although I insisted on eating something first. In the end eating something was a good idea because I needed something in my body but a bad idea because it didn't digest well at the now horizontal level of their sinks for washing hair. It was Wednesday so Camillo had the day off, but he was in waiting for the regular meeting to start and when Michael was almost done completely drying my hair asked me if he could cut it. I answered with my usual response, that it was completely up to him and he slightly trimmed it a little to make a new shape around the face. Some of the boys stood around watching him as they were also waiting for Kast to finish his customer and them to have the meeting.

What an intense meeting it was! First they had a vote to see which of them was the best worker for the month - either Jimmy or Dennis won, I'm not sure which. I was in the corner working on my characters. Then somewhere in the midst of the meeting Camillo's moving to a new place was brought up. BIG mistake. Camillo has decided, for multiple reasons, that he wants to move to his own place. He, unlike many of the washers and cleaners at the Salon, has the money for it and as he owns part of the Salon it shouldn't really be a big deal. But what a fight broke out. Dennis got up and insisted that others should move in with Camillo if he got a new place. After all they were pretty cramped in the two apartments they had. He said it was unfair for Camillo to get his own place just because he wanted to move in with me (that last part was a direct quote with no response from anyone but Dennis who said it, a quote that surprised me enough to start listening in on what was going on more than write my characters). Camillo decided to keep his mouth shut and not argue about the whole thing. In the end Hui absolutely blew up at everyone about it. I've never seen her so angry. She was yelling and screaming and banging her hands on the cart she was using as a podium. It was an absolute mess.

Only afterwards did some of the boys get to talk about it. During the fight itself Kast and Sayles were counting out the salaries for the boys for the month and Alex decided to step aside as he didn't want to get in the fight. Kast and all of the boys who live with Camillo right now had already discussed Camillo's moving out so they weren't too concerned. Although Eason was a little angry because he too wanted to move to another place. After Hui blew up everyone kind of dispersed except Yenson, Sayles, Hui, Kast, Dennis, Eason, Camillo and I. Hui had a little discussion with Dennis about the whole thing and Yenson and Eason did too leaving Kast and Sayles to continue counting. I decided to stay out of the fight, after all it wasn't my call. I thought it was a bit crazy, after all Camillo is one of the hardest workers at the Salon and he has the money to move to another place so what's the big deal? They should be happy for him to be getting his own place. I decided to call Ishani and talk with her.

After a while everyone decided to leave and go to a little barbecue stand outside Camillo's apartments. It was a little place just for outside with tables slightly below knee level and chairs that had you basically squatting on and eating with your elbows on your knees. It was pretty good food, surprisingly. They called Alex and Akun's brother over to eat with them. They had a good discussion about foods all over - I understood a lot more than I had before and it was very obvious to me which was really neat. They talked about the US a little bit and as usual I insisted some things weren't as great as they thought they were. Camillo responded "nothing in the US is good except you" which was an interesting comment with again no response from anyone. Then they got back into the discussion about moving. Only this time they weren't arguing about Camillo moving or not but about what they should and shouldn't discuss in front of Hui and what made her blow up like that. I just kind of sat there and listened, after all again it wasn't my discussion.

I ended up breaking everyone up because I had to use the restroom and besides Camillo's house (which neither Eason nor Alex had the key to) I couldn't go anywhere else. Akun's brother, Alex, Eason, Camillo and I decided to go to the massage place next to Peace Plaza and I used their restroom and then got my feet massaged. They were a little surprised to see me after so long of not getting to. I hope to go over there again today and say hi.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb