Sing Monkey Sing!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
January 27th 2007
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just had a great "class". It's the look like a foreigner to attract customers class! We get to do demonstration classes every now and again where we have to stand up and give a lecture on the school and the teaching style as well as who we are and where we are from. It's fun because we have to go around to all the tables afterwards and we often times get one student monopolizing our time at any given table. The latest was a girl trying to get my phone number to go out to bars and talk. "I'm not allowed to give you my phone number." "Really?" "Yeah but I can give you my e-mail address." They try to monopolize your time a lot. "What about having lunch with me today?" One of my students just asked me. "Can I have your travelblog address?" Get me in deep doo-doo! We have to be really careful.

Things for a Chinese person not to do in the USA. When you are in Detroit in the middle of the night if three black people ask you for directions do not go "Nigga .... First you walk down this street." For that matter do not say "nigga" at all anywhere or else you'll be "niggaed" in the buttox! To those of you wondering what the frell is going on in Chinese "nigga" is the translation of the English word "um". My colleague Tye, an African American from Germany, is commenting all the time about the use of this word. He finds it pretty comical that it means "um" here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb