Dancing in Dali


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
June 24th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

With our group numbering four now (myself, Louisa, Einat and Yael), we boarded the 9am train to Dali expecting the worse. But, we managed to snag 4 seats together and pass the time playing cards (hearts!) and listening to music from my mp3 player. I was able to make friends with a nice Chinese girl, especially after I joked with her that we were going to get married. Her reply was "you're too tall". The last 30 minutes of the train ride was rough for me as it was all in a tunnel at a very slow speed!

We found our hostel easily and picked up another Isreali on the way. That makes 3 Isrealis, one Dane and one American (me). We found out quickly that many Isrealis were at this hostel (Guest house #5). Since it was already 5pm, we spent the night at the hostel eating, drinking and meeting other travelers. At around 10:30pm, I noticed a bunch of kids coming in with instruments. I managed to arrange a jam session as two trumpet players, a piano player, a flutist (is that correct??) and a drummer (who used the stairs and a railing as his percussions) banged out
Jam Session, Chinese StyleJam Session, Chinese StyleJam Session, Chinese Style

A group of Washington DC highschoolers are staying in our hostel. On our first night here, after they came back from a gig, i got them to gather around the piano player and jam for about 2 hours. They loved it as they have never free-styled before.
a few tunes...the kids loved it as did their teachers/chaperones.

Next day, a bit hung over, I caught game 7 of the NBA finals at 9am with a Portugese guy and two isrealis. We were routing for Detroit but good game nonetheless. Obe One Ganobli is awesome! No water at the hostel in the morning so a shower was out of the question (what can I expect for $1.80 per night). So the girls and I rented bikes and headed for the lake as I thought we could grab a swim. We ended up biking through some fields and had to carry the bikes a bit. Good day, great sites but my back ended up killing me later that night. The lake was a bit scary at the edges so I did not swim but some kids we came across were both swimming and bathing in the lake.

As it was Friday night, Yael and Anon (another Isreali at the hostel...a nice guy who will probably join us for some trekking later on this week) suggested we have a shabat ceremony...I bought some cheap wine and bread that looked like challah and presto......Shabat in China!

Next day we visited the Wu Wei Shi temple to watch monks practice kung fu. They were mostly youngsters but their flexibility was amazing. Scenery from the mountain looking down upon Dali was fantastic. Like most of China, from afar it looks amazing, but up close it gets scary. Late in the day, Einat and I strolled around the Old Town a bit and I snapped some great photos. I even played badmitten with a young girl for 15 minutes. It is the unplanned strolls which lead to the unexpected and most cherishing moments.

I have enjoyed my three days here in Dali. The street sellers are very pushy and continue to try and hawk their goods even after you have said "thank you" a dozen times. But they are just trying to earn money so I stay relaxed. Sometime I even joke with them to end the constant begging.

It's off to Lijiang tomorrow. I hear it is beautiful there with outstanding mountain scenery.

L-


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Kids swimming in lakeKids swimming in lake
Kids swimming in lake

Not only do they swim, but then they grab a bar of soap and some shampoo and bath in the lake. Then, of course, they throw the empty plastic bottle of shampoo in the lake. Ah, china!
Old and NewOld and New
Old and New

Local woman carries empty crates with her head but takes a break to answer her cell phone. Old and new collide here in China.
Kabalat ShabbatKabalat Shabbat
Kabalat Shabbat

A large group of Isrealis are staying at the hostel. So, on Friday night, we had a shabbat service. The blonde on the far right is Louise, our Danish friend, who is an honorary Jew...she even said the prayer for the bread.
Tennis anyone?Tennis anyone?
Tennis anyone?

Actually, it was badmitten which I played with this little girl for about 15 minutes. I was terrible.
North GateNorth Gate
North Gate

The old city of Dali is surrounded by a large wall. Looking trough a hole in destroyed building you can see the North Gate entrance to the old city.
Delivery serviceDelivery service
Delivery service

I take a moment to deliver tomatoes to the local establishments
Kung fu trainingKung fu training
Kung fu training

We visited the Wu Wei Shi temple where youngsters were practicing kunk fu. Their flexibility is frightening.
Lake ErhaiLake Erhai
Lake Erhai

From the mountain near the Kung Fu temple you get a great view of Dali suburbs and Erhai lake, the 7th largest fresh water lake in China. Dali is at an elevation of almost 2000 meters above sea level.
Same traveling circuitSame traveling circuit
Same traveling circuit

In the middle are two Austrians who we first met waiting for the train in Guilin to Kunming. We bump into them in each city we visit as they are on the same path.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb