CHINESE MASSAGE...healing the inner Chi


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 14th 2018
Published: July 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

CHINESE MASSAGE...healing the inner Chi.

She sidles up and strokes my cheek...from Inner Mongolia...in Beijing to work...reminiscing she had had another Aussie boyfriend sometime before. My mate sidling up and whispering in my ear, "Be careful".

But I whisk him away 'cause I don't object to the attention...her hand gently stroking my cheek.

When he later returns advising there are pictures in the toilets of what they are prepared to do to us...I advise her I am bound to another...departing into the white blizzards of the night...the other girls eyeing us as opportunities taking flight.



Our next stop is a nightclub where one pretty girl for each of the four of us...dice games...if you lose you buy her a drink as well as yourself.

Her way of surviving in the city...her way of making a buck.

When one loses a few throws...which is every throw...a visit to the WC is in order so in I went. Spraying the tiles in the urinal when I feel a tug...look down...not sure if it was shock or horror...a young man is polishing my boots!!!

His way of surviving in the city...his way of making a
buck.

So we tell our host that the nightclub doesn't do it for us either...stepping out again into the freezing night.

******

Our next stop has a guard standing in the snow. They say if you stand still in the snow...the cold is less likely to get to you...but I'm not prepared to try it to see.

Into change rooms where we strip to our birthday suits...our clothes in a locker...a young man for each of us with bathrobe to cover our undress. At least it has pockets to hold the locker key.

Then to a large open room with a few swimming pools...Chinese men of all shapes and sizes wallowing around.

The young men remove our robes and gesture into the water we slip.

Yeeka...this pool is not tepid. It's boiling hot!

My first Chinese bath house...for some a hotel...for some a place to do business.

It gets a tad uncomfortable when the young man insists he assist me dress...well tries to...disposable underpants for modesty...into a line of beds where pretty girls are waiting.

Our skin pink and soft...the girls' fingers probing and strong.

Welcome to Chinese massage...undoubtedly
the reason we were brought along.

Music wafting...the girl ever smiling...muscles writhing...a long line of skin and black haired men...each with a girl...like a production line...massage applying.

"Finished" and she's gone...men stirring...young men assisting with white dressing gowns.

I thought that was it but we go to another floor...robed men on beds watching a film in a cinema...on stretcher beds...young girls feeding us slices of orange and cups of green tea.

But I cannot concentrate on the film...fascinated by the girls...much more enchanting than images on the screen.

Then into a dining room where our host's wife joins us for dinner.

She had been doing the same as us...men and women separate.

Chinese massage...for some a way of life...more than pampering as I was soon to find out.

******



Kunming, Yunnan Provence

We are on our way from Kunming to Lijiang on our Shangri-la roadtrip when our host decides we need a massage.

Truly memorable...beautiful eyes...hands gentle and fingers strong...but this one was different.

She swung from a horizontal bar over the bed...walking on my back and chest...chattering to the girl in the next cubicle...Elton
John music...massaging me with her searching toes.

Oh those toes.

Please bring back those Kunming toes.

******



Beijing another trip with my true love

We had eaten an Emperor's feast prepared by the chef of the Forbidden City...in a room behind those sacred walls...me in a black & gold Emperor's Dragon suit specially tailored for me in Wangfujing...Denise not wearing hers as it looked like a Mao suit.

Sometimes tailor-made comes out a bit different than expected...for Denise this was such a time.

We walked through the Summer Palace the following day...the route our host used to take as a child at night in the Cultural Revolution...avoiding guard dogs...laughing as adrenaline overcame fear...returning for more mischief with his mates the following night.

But years have passed and our host now uses this backdoor route to conduct business.

Walking until agreement reached...ringing his secretary to type contracts...adjourning for hot bath and massage...a boy on a pushbike delivering the contracts to a massage centre as they emerge renewed in dressing gowns ready for signing.

Our host and his wife take us into the countryside where a metropolis has risen from
farmland...into the bowels of a shopping plaza...past an underground Olympic length pool...through a gilded door...men one side...women the other.

Yep you guessed it...Chinese massage.

Then a banquet meal afterwards...of course in dressing gowns!

******



Pingyao, Shanxi Province

Our Qing Dynasty hotel...an 8 foot wide Kang bed heated by pipes from the kitchen...two women enter for Chinese massage...probably the only time Denise and I shared the same bed for remedial encounter.

No massage is ever the same...each therapist having their own style.

She was tall and slender...a bit older than usual...and stronger.

Her fingers dig into my back...plucking my muscles and giving them a twang.

Shaking one arm as if jiggling a rope...then cracking my arm like a stockwhip...nearly pulling my arm off.

My subdued scream saving the other arm from similar treatment.

Chinese massage...always different...many styles.

******



Malacca, Malaysia

Chinese massage has a darker side.

Enter a Chinese massage house in downtown Malacca...led by the girl upstairs and down a long corridor to small room.

She had come from a rural village in northern China "to work".

The room
was also her bedroom.

It struck me that if a customer took advantage of her...the room was so far from Reception...would her screams be heard?

Or were there expected additional services as dessert after main course?

Is that what they mean by a "Happy Ending"?

When I went downstairs I had to call out for attendance at Reception...a man with a cigarette hanging out of the corner of his mouth eyeing me suspiciously...or was it nonchalantly as he reached for the notes by which I paid?

******



Blind massage in Kaifeng, China

I am travelling with my Xiong di (Chinese younger brother) in the city that has been flooded by the Yellow River over 400 times...my body racked with pain after carrying a large stash of booty back to our hotel...into a rickshaw to find appropriate treatment...Chinese massage.

We pass premise after premise til he found a vinyl floor, shower curtain but blue (non-sex) establishment...seedy not greedy for me I guess he thought.

The masseur was blind.

And he did such wonders for only 15 yuan for one hour (about AUD$2.50) that I tipped him generously.

I
thought at the time it was the best massage I had had in my life.

He may have no sight...but his touch showed he had inner sight.

China has to be applauded for training folk with disabilities so they can work and maintain a level of independence.



Blind massage in Vietnam

Denise and I had travelled to Vietnam for Mischief on the Mekong with fellow Travelbloggers Cockle (Nick) and the Travel Camel (Shane).

Nick took us for a blind massage...but Shane was coy and wouldn't come.

There I was in my birthday suit on my back...the blind masseur discrete and me in dreamland with his magic touch...

"Click, click, click"...giggle from Nick in the next cubicle.

Eyes open...camera held by fingers from a large wrist...peering down at me.

Boy I miss Nick. We all do.

Bit of a wag...but boy I miss his laugh...and his tricks!

******



Max

I met a guy in my home town that was not only a brilliant foot reflexologist and masseur but an exponent of Chinese medicine of some reknown.

He was so popular that people travelled
from distance to receive treatment from him.

He had come 4th in the whole of Guangxi Province in the end of his schooling exams, which is super impressive, so to Beijing School of Chinese Medicine he did go.

He practised as a Doctor of Chinese Medicine in China before emigrating to Australia...where upon arrival his qualifications were regarded as nought.

So he worked in a Reflexology/Massage clinic as he studied at University at night.

I had an issue with my neck and was planning a long trip in Africa...walked into the clinic...and that's how I met Max.

He was so popular that I booked him far ahead for the same time each week.

We had such a rewarding time that we became good friends...talked about his life...travel...his aspirations...swapped music...every week between my travels...for about 18 months.

As a skilful acupuncturist he released a nerve that often would catch on a spur in my neck...generally treated me for this or that...I even helped him with some legal assistance to further his credentials.

And over time he released my inner Chi.

Max has moved on and so have I but we remain in
touch through Facebook.

I will always remember Max...great conversation...and his magic touch.

Through Chinese massage I have met some amazing people.

When I have aches and pains these are my first ports of call.

******



I look forward to that further trip to China with Chinese younger brother...my Xiong di, Robin...for adventures...Chinese music...travelling as Chinese brothers again...further journeys to exotic places as life deems there be...and of course...Chinese massage.



Relax & Enjoy (with a Chinese massage or two),

Dancing Dave



Note: The music video will only work while you are on page 1 of this blog


Additional photos below
Photos: 126, Displayed: 28


Advertisement















14th July 2018

Memorable massages
Having never been to China, I've never had a Chinese massage, nor humorous tales to tell about them. In truth, I've never had a massage here in the UK, but the one I had at the hammam in Taybet Zaman, Jordan stands out in my memory as a very hot and soapy one. I don't remember too much about the one at the Szechenyi Spa Baths in Budapest - it was so good I fell asleep half-way through!
14th July 2018

Memorable massages
The beauty of Chinese massages Mike is for many it is a way of life. I only touched on some in this blog but each are different as testified in my Javan Massage blog. Chinese may be accompanied by a hot bath, banquet or film...only Javan has an Intermission! Yours sounded exquisite, Thanks for commenting.
15th July 2018

Interesting topic!
It brings to mind a couple of my experiences. I spent the day touring the Forbidden City with a just barely healed broken ankle, so returned to the four star Novotel where I was staying and signed up for a Swedish message. The girl used oil and succeeded in removing all pain from my body. However, at the end she used sign language to ask if I wanted a happy ending. I was surprised that this would be offered in a nice western hotel. I said thanks, but NO! My second experience was the last day of my stay at the Marriott in Cancun. I had a voucher for a free message so scheduled it just before checkout time. Again, oil all over and relaxation. I went to my room which was close by to shower off all the oil. The shower didn't work...the water was rusty. I dressed with oil all over me and we flew home. My daughter picked us up at the airport and on the way home she asked what that strong fragrance was. It was sure great to get home and shower! Your pictures of all over China and Tibet are great! SO where are you and Denise off to next!
15th July 2018

Interesting topic!
Swedish massages Bob...with your Scandinavian roots why am I not surprised? But no happy endings? No comment whether I am surprised!!!
15th July 2018

Chinese massage
Hey Dave, you have been to China!!You did not tell me!??I am visiting the ethnic minorities in Guizhou province!! Never had a Chinese massage, one day I will try. Safe travel and keep well Bye
15th July 2018

Chinese massage
I hoped you would see this Marcos. I hope you are enjoying Guizhou. I am not in China at the moment but dreaming of another adventure in that fascinating country...and of yet another Chinese massage. When you do take the plunge I will be interested if to you too, it becomes a way of life!
16th July 2018

Tch Tch
I have a stick at home I can give you a massage with but there will be no happy endings! :) :) :)
16th July 2018

Tch Tch
Woulda, coulda, shoulda...better be careful ah...maybe I shouldn't ah
16th July 2018

Small details
I love all the descriptions and small details. Excellent blogging yet again. Dave
16th July 2018

Small details
Thanks Dave. With probing fingers it's the small detail that counts. A few icy pics to also make you feel at home albeit Chinese ice not Canadian tundra. We love travelling in China in Wnter too...fewer crowds...more Chinese massage!
20th July 2018

Head massage in Beijing
Many years ago I lived in Beijing for six months. One day I went to a hairdresser because I needed a haircut. I asked her if she could give me a shoulder massage. She answered that she couldn't because she didn't know how to do that. When she was finished she she washed my hair and then she gave me a very long and absolutely fantastic head massage. While doing that she told me that I was the first white person she had ever had as a customer. When she was done she didn't even want me to pay for the massage. She only wanted to get paid for the haircut. I tipped her of course. /Ake
20th July 2018

Head massage in Beijing
How good is that Ake!!! What I would give for 6 months in Beijing...magic!!!
20th July 2018

Massage around the world
Dave and I get a massage every three or four weeks. We've had them all around the world. We'll be careful in China... ha ha. Once again you've captured the underbelly of a country. You've experienced all that is on offer. I'm glad you didn't burn anything. Our worst massage has been in Vietnam and Peru offered one of our best. Both of these were by blind therapists.
21st July 2018

Massage around the world
Massages around the World, MJ. Many styles...always different. Did you have one in Armenia while we sojourned in the Piano Bar at the Royal Tulip?
22nd July 2018

This may be a little risqué to be my theme song
Your blogs are so much better with music. This one had me laughing and thinking about massage and gin and old friends. Oh and of course the infamous cheesecake monster :oP
22nd July 2018

This may be a little risqué to be my theme song
I'd usually give five ticks Anita, but for you, five gold stars. Your comment had Denise & I also laughing out loud about the same things. I really need to see you...maybe I could supply the music!
22nd July 2018

Blind Massage
I would really love to try blind massage at some point, think I've wanted that ever since watching the old Zatoichi movies as a wee lad. So far the opportunity hasn't presented itself though.
22nd July 2018

Blind Massage
Just step out and do it Per-Olof. Fortune favours the brave. I have just had a Skype with Dave & MJ (DMJ Binkley) and they have had massages all over the world...one in Peru with blind sisters!
27th July 2018

Brilliant!
I want exactly what you got except with a male masseuse, Laughing so hard, I have a tummy ache.
27th July 2018

Brilliant!
Glad you checked in Harriet. As to your request...I thought the music video provided that ;)
29th July 2018

Massages of a lifetime
Good stuff here, Dave. Very evocative. It made me think how each time one steps into a new foreign room for a massage you really have no idea what exactly is in store for you.
29th July 2018

Massages of a lifetime
Your comment makes me think massages in foreign lands are a bit like travel Tommy...while you may like to drift off to sleep...one must always be vigilant...ready for the unexpected...all experiences are different...but most importantly...enjoy the ride!
6th November 2018

All's Well that ENDS well (Until you meed Denise's stick ;)
Oh sweet Jaysus Dave, yet another funny detailed blog. (Due to a password glitch I've been locked out of my blog since Aug. Thanks to Jo we finally got me back in, whether anyone wants me here or not!) OMG those massages do come in all shapes and sizes don't they? Hmmm I was almost blushing reading some of them! Frankly I'm not a big fan of them even though they are cheap and wonderful in Mexico. It's just not comfortable for me, and half the time I get someone who could bend steel & I'm a pretzel before I know it. I usually leave limping with hair askew looking like 50 miles of bad highway. Not my cup of TEA-quila I guess. My hubby loves them & now I am not wondering why! The only person giving Al a 'happy ending' is me or I'd be much like Denise with that big stick takin' a round out of him! But your massage storytelling kept me smiling as I listened to your Mr. Butler. Maybe as I age with more aches & pains, i'll welcome Chinese acupuncture & therapy. In the meantime, glad to be back and reading your stories, massages & all. Your Canadian friend Sal!
7th November 2018

All's Well that ENDS well (Until you need Denise's stick ;)
Sorry to hear you were in the lockup, whoops, locked out since August Sal. Sorry you have not enjoyed the pleasures of strong hands healing your inner Chi. I guess like anything it is an acquired taste. Every massage I ask where in China the masseur comes from...always evokes a response if I say I have been there...the last one really got off on it...constantly whispering in my ear!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb