Sichuan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
January 29th 2012
Published: January 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Busy busy busy, lets seeee. Ah yea, food. A few days back I and a bunch of people from the program were taken to the foodstreet where you can eat all maners of delicious things. These things might not be in everyones taste as mentioned before but i tried this and that and came to a few conclusions. I like a whole snake on a stick, and monkey meat aint bad either, furthermore I do adore, a ricedumpling dipped in some sort of tomato junk. What I liked a little less. The scorpion on a stick is just as crunchy and tasteless as the tarantula, lizard and starfish. And at last but least i was pursuaded into eating a slice of donkey phallus, which apparently, all gay jokes aside, is supposed to make you stronger according to chinese legend. It was indeed an interesting day and i was lucky enough not to suffer any stomach problems from that experience, i wish I could say the same of the food i had yesterday.
Did I mention that there is a Hooters in Beijing? oh well, of course i found it, by accident actually, and I ans my friend Mike went to relax on our half day off. I was foolish enough to order the buffalo platter, a mix of chicken wings shrimp and chicken sticks, and request that it be of Sichuan strenght spicy. Among the many diffrent cuisines, Sichuan is known to have a perticularly spicy one and I guess there is some truth to that, in fact I feel lucky that I still have my teeth intact after yesterday fire banquet. Needless to say I'm having a tough morning today, but its all part of china, sometimes your toilet is you partner for the day wether you like it or not.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb