First entry!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 13th 2006
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, finally here!

Just discovered it's not as censored as I imagined.... able to log onto my hotmail and even use my mobile phone!

After my journey here.. (got sitting next to lovely old Spanish lady who was trying unsuccessfully to strike up Spanish conversations and give me all her food!) found the hostel where I'm staying. Despite my ideas of China being a tropical paradise and not packing any waterproof clothesI in the past 36 hours I've managed to become soaked to the bone on 2 occasions and have trekked through mini rivers in the area I'm staying in my poor trainers, which I'm now going to have to bin!

On the upside, I've seen a lot of amazing places in my short space of time. Spent today in Tianenman square and the Forbidden City. I was amazed at the sheer scale of the place but saddened at the way it was being restored to a near Disneyland type exhibit prior to the Olympics. Tianenman square is vast with armies of Chinese tourists all wearing red hats lining up to have their photos taken next to the portrait of Mao who is, as I understand some kind of Demi-God.

Had the chance to sample some authentic Peking Duck last night with a group of English people, washed down with several bottles of local beer (only 14p for 750ml!!!!). Avoding the local delicacy of Korean style dog so far (apparently the nightly cull of the local strays takes place at 2am in the alley outside our hostel) and haven't yet tried the silkworms/dogfeet kebabs!!

People I've met so far v friendly and cool and have lots of stories of their travels...(I'm so jealous!)

Anyways I'll write more after my Great Wall Trek on Thursday!

Paul

PS Just tried to upload some photos and not succeeded so you'll all have to wait until I get back!!

Advertisement



13th June 2006

Glad you got there ok nothing much happening here, just the usual mundane report writing to do! Keep in touch, love Mum x
15th June 2006

Heh u! Im completely and totally jealous!! Sounds like ur havin a brill time even with the chronic rain.....Im sure that us UK folk tend to drag the weather with us wherever we go!! My advice....buy one of those really kick-ass red plastic travel mac things that look like bin-liners! Cheap, Cheery, Lightweight........and more importantly, will make for some very funny photos so u can show us when u get back :) Hope u are seeing all the things u wanted to and lots more and meeting plenty of cool people along the way....even if they do only speak spanish :) Lookin forward to hearing about it all when u get back......the office is way less fun without u! Write again and tell us what ur up to, Love and hugs, Nat xo :) ps I absolutely dare you to try a dogfeet kebab!
16th June 2006

Whoops! Thought you only had one entry. Never mind, found the right one! So. The million dollar question - any hotties? Say, rain clouds must have a thing for you! If I recall correctly, it was pissing it down in Japan when you were there. Have you bought a brolly? Maybe you can have a brollies from around the world collection! My memory is coming back. It rained when we were in Thailand! So it is indeed you, you jinx!! Take lots of care xx ps Have a date tomorrow!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb