My oh my it's hot


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
June 17th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

Sitting in the internet cafe at my hostel in Xi'an. Thought I might escape the 39 degree heat in here but I think it's warmer than outside! At least I've got Harrison Ford dubbed in comedy Mandarin to keep me amused and also distracted a little from my rapidly growing sweat patches (nice!).

Summmoned up the courage to walk the Great Wall. I kept putting it off, as the bit I wanted to do involved a 10K hike over an unrestored bit and I'm not a great fan of heights! Managed to get up at 6am (I resisted the temptation to go to one of the local 'nightclubs' with some people from the hostel despite copious amounts of Tsingtao!- and I'm v glad I left my lassoo at home!) I needn't have been scared as the walk was absolutely amazing. It was like looking at a painting- got lots of pics. There were a few hairy bits with 70degree ascents scrambling up rockfaces and that coupled with the 30degree heat meant it was a bit hardgoing I- I managed to drink 3litres of water during the walk. There were these local people trying to sell you things at every turn... sometimes jumping out when you least expected it which kept me on my toes!

Been to Chairman Mao's mausoleum which is a bizarre experience. Almost like a church to the big man, with locals leaving these silk flowers at his statue. I figured these would be sold agian the next day... a bit sad.

Have managed to completely stuff my face with all sorts since I got here... but no dog! Most bizarre things I've seen were seahorses on sticks and live scorpions on sticks (yes, live!).

Got the train overnight last night here to Xi'an and have walked the city today. The thought of a 20hr train journey to Shanghai (have heard horror stories!) has prompted me to book myself on a flight on Tuesday and and then another back to Beijing on Friday.... figured as I'm paying 14p a beer and $3.50 a night a bed I could treat myself!!

Anyways I'm off to stand under a cold shower for an hour! Terracotta warriors tomorrow..

Hope everyone is ok!

Paul!

Advertisement



17th June 2006

Glad you're having a great time :its warm here at the moment, but not near as hot as 39degrees! Glad you are getting a flight , much easier. Will add more comments soon. take care. Love Mum and Dad x
19th June 2006

Sounds amazing Paul! You lucky thing! Try loading the pics on again, it'll be nice to see you amidst the statues and things. Tell us whether you've managed to learn survival Mandarin! It's raining cats and dogs (and pigs and cows) here at the moment. Bahh. xx

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb