The Road and Death


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

City Street City Street City Street

Not an ideal picture for the description above, but I'm looking for the other pictures I have
You think New York is crazy...check out Beijing, China...rules of the road are definitely not obeyed...I've had close encounters with "Death" disguised as buses, cars, taxis, bikes, and even people. Though the road may have lanes, it is pretty much an open racetrack with a couple of traffic lights (which serve no useful purpose) here and there. Fortunately, the people here are SOMEWHAT cautious. Basically, they just try not to run over you. Oh by the way, I'm a foreigner on a bike; we travel in packs and stay in packs so that we don't get run over; it's a way of life. If you read about the bike, you know how dangerous my life is on the road...but I deal with it and I try to take public transportation as much as possible (specifically a taxi). I try not to ride my bike in the city, but sometimes the time beckons for a bike ride. The seats hurt my butt and I never feel like riding it since the dirty wind gets in my eyes and, well, I'm lazy. Oh how I've come to appreciate the taxi. Did I mention the lanes are HUGE. And the bike lane just as
Busy StreetBusy StreetBusy Street

This is a normal street in Beiming...it gets worse than this.
big. It's crazy, but it's and adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

TrainTrain
Train

Oooo...this is a VERY CHEAP means of transportation!


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb