Chinese Food makes me sick?!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 3rd 2006
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

FOOD!FOOD!FOOD!

Here is a sampling of some food I may have consumed and digested for either lunch or dinner. Enjoy!
Everyone knows I love Chinese food, and would probably eat it AT LEAST twice per week while at UIUC. So one would think…HEY! Ketan is going to have a blast eating Chinese food everyday…but that is not the case…It’s true that there are different styles of Chinese food, but after a while it all tastes the same (except for the lamb stick kebabs, which I don’t think I will ever get sick of). I could venture into the world of Chinese seafood dishes, but I was never, am not, and will never be a seafood fan. Tofu, on the other hand, has an ominous potential to becoming a staple dish in my diet, but that will require me to have at least a 6 month experience of eating it. BUGS! Hell no…that is totally out of the question!? Today I saw seahorse on sticks and LIVE scorpions on sticks selling for 10 yuan, and I wasn’t surprised, but had a reality check in that people ACTUALLY DO eat bugs (screw the protein, I have my chicken for that). Unfortunately, Beijing, China is not as diverse in the selection as I thought, since both India and Africa have a variety of restaurants
FOOD!FOOD!FOOD!

Here is a sampling of some food I may have consumed and digested for either lunch or dinner. Enjoy!
scattered around (maybe I just have to search harder here). I haven’t found many Indian, Mexican, Italian restaurants around, yet I have experienced hot pots and street vendor foods. The closest I have been to American food is pizza, and to tell you the truth is wasn’t bad; it was actually tasty. Bubble tea anyone?! I haven’t found a bubble tea place that is good and I can frequent, but I sure hope I do. I think I crave it at least once a day, but don’t always get what I want, so I have to stick with kekou kele (try to guess what that is). Oh and if you’re wondering where the McDonald’s is, well it’s here and it’s everywhere. KFC is also right around the corner and so is Pizza Hut. Looking for coffee? Starbucks might just be down the block. Buyer BEWARE! At all these American franchises, you are definitely not getting your money’s worth by buying it since you may be able to get so much more at a regular restaurant. Yet, it may just have to do if someone is looking for something other than stir-fry everything and rice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

FOOD!FOOD!
FOOD!

MMM lamb kebabs!


4th June 2006

Bubble Tea is not exactly that popular in China. And, don't go to restaurants for food. Go to street stalls for food. Those foods are much tastier.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb