Friends & Family


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 30th 2011
Published: August 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had a busy, but great two week. My roomie Austin left (sobs) but then I had friends from my chinese class coming here, and my sister, mum and cousin with husband. So besides shool, I've had helped with shopping. I don't usually like shopping, but here it's even worse in the markets since you ought to bargain. In chinese. It's ok if you have patience, which I don't. But I see it as a way to chat and practice my chinese a bit.
Other than that there's been some eating, of course. I took my family to some good restaurants, and we also managed to eat Beijing duck "kao ya". It's very special, eating it in a certain way. I don't think it's so special, but not trying it would be like not eating meatballs while in Sweden. We just went to a restaurant at Wangfujing in one of the malls. Usually you don't have to go to famous restaurants here, since most places have really, really good food. I've hardly eaten any bad food here. Not badly cooked anyway, just me ordering the wrong things like bones with some meat on it, or just really fat meat, which I don't like.

Me and my swedish schoolmates also went for some KTV = Karaoke. Not like in Sweden at all. We went at midnight on a Thursday night, after asking some people where to go at Sanlitun, one of the party areas. We found a huge place, looked more like a hotel. We got our own fancy room, a waiter and we got a little bit carried away. It was a fun night actually. Must be done while in asia.

Me and Mi-ae my friend, also went to silk and pearlmarket. To buy silk and pearls. Mi-ae have the greatest patience, but even I thought it was fun to buy great quality things that are so expensive in Sweden. It was fun to learn more about silk and pearls. I also bought some tea. You can't compare it at all, even with the great tea in Sweden. Just taste so much. Yummie. So I recommend tea, preferably from a tea house where you can sit down and try the different variety of tea. Also pearls and silk for gifts or for yourself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Me having a 1 Y snackMe having a 1 Y snack
Me having a 1 Y snack

At the hutongs, very cozy


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb