Glow-in-the-dark Mao


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 28th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Beijing! A city of some 15 million all of whom think they can drive. And own some sort of vehicle.

But lots and lots of trees and much more preserved than Shanghai. Shanghai is very much a modern city that could be just about anywhere - Beijing has more of a smaller town feel to it. We arrived later in the day after the grottoes, and the next morning visited Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City (which are walking distance from the hotel we are staying in). Mao paraphernalia everywhere - from alarm clocks to watches to hats and jackets and and and. Then a special treat - we visited what I will call a sheltered workshop - since most of you will understand what I mean by that - for lunch. This is a centre that operates as a not for profit and non governmental agency, giving handicapped young adults and teens a place to go for work and training, because as you can imagine there isn't much in the way of social assistance here. The company I am travelling with believes in responsible travel and giving back to the country/community, and this is what they support here in China (there is one in Beijing, one in Xian and one in another community which escapes me right now).

There we were served a dumpling lunch and tea, all prepared by the 'kids' after which we were given an enthusiastic show by them. They play musical instruments, dance and sing - and THEN they gave us a calligraphy lesson. Which they thought was hilarious - we are sooo challenged here in the west😊. Bought a few things from their handicraft store, and then we said our goodbys and headed off to tour the hutongs. These are narrow alleys all across Beijing, that were the lifeblood and neighbourhoods of this city at one time. They are disappearing at a frightening pace at the moment however, in the name of sprucing up for the Olympics. We got to vist a family who live in the hutongs as well, and it was neat to see how they live.

By the time we finished up the day was pretty much done so a couple of us gals decided to try our hand at some of the markets. We went to what is known as the Silk Market - but I am not sure why because it is essentially 4 floors of clothes, shoes, suitcases, bags, 'real' rolexes etc etc. Lots of hard bargaining that goes on but that seems to pass the time for the sellers I'm sure😊 - those poor folks put in very long days. All in good fun.

Next day was a free day so I started it by visiting Mao. The whole world lines up and files through the mausoleum to have a look at his preserved body. It is very weird. His 'body' is under a communist flag but given the way it drapes...not so sure what is actually there. His head is all you can see, and apparently they keep his body in the deep freeze at night to preserve it, but it looks unreal to me. The way they have the lighting in there it looks like his head is actually glowing😊. Folks bring flowers and bow and pray to him all over the place. What was interesting to me: the chinese do NOT line up for anything, and are quite pushy. So there is this mass of people in absolute chaos that are supposed to be the lineup to get in - when suddenly a secret service type guy (complete with black pants white shirt and dark sunglasses) barks about three words into a megaphone and the chaos disolves into two perfiect lines. Who knew this would work?. Next time I come to China I will make sure to pack my loudspeaker!😊

Afterwards I visited the Lama Temple (huge) and had plans for the Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace but it was pouring rain and since these are both essentially outdoor pursuits, decided to hike around the hutongs for a bit instead.

And then the big day. Off to the Great Wall. We visited the wall at Simatai which is the furthest from Beijing and consequently the least crowded. A three hour drive (I will spare you a description of the trip and the driver's death defying tricks - But I will tell you that I decided against sleeping on the drive there so that I would be able to brace myself before impact😊) and although it was raining when we started out it was cool and overcast without rain when we arrived at the wall.

Now when you arrive at the wall you can choose to go up by cable car and train, and THEN walk the last little bit up to the wall and hike it for an hour or so. Or you can walk all the way up to the wall which takes a good hour in itself, BEFORE hiking the wall. And because I am NOT old - just ask my brain - I walked up. Oh. My. God.

Actually it wasn't that bad but I am extremely glad that it was cool and overcast because it would have been absolutely unbearable if it had been warm and sunny (like it is today). So I walked the whole thing. Have I told you how remarkable I am? Awesome even? Maybe more like stubborn😊. My knees and ankles told me to smarten up though, so we took the cable car back down. If I am able to load up the pics you will see just how steep this thing is. And in some places there are no steps - it is just ramplike and slippery. But the views - no camera could do them justice.

So now that we were all suitably sweaty and stinky we found out that we were not returning to the hotel for a shower and change before dinner - we were going right to the restaurant! Gross! But no one cared once we got there - Peking Duck and beer and chicken and fish and pork and rice and veggies.......a wonderful last meal for the group

Most folks were heading out today to return to their respective homes. I had originally planned to head to Tibet for a week or so after this trip, but am finding it a little difficult to get moving on that. I am thinking that may be my cue to think about returing home now. I have had a wonderful 2 months, met some outstanding folks who were fun and extremely interesting, seen some incredible sights - man made and otherwise - been challenged and touched. I want to end this on a good and postive note - actually a beach would be awesome but that is proving a little difficult to do given the time of year and where I am😊😊 - so I think I will wrap it up very soon, come home and digest it all for a bit.

Hope you have enjoyed the journey with me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb