The Bus


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 16th 2006
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The bus system is the most terrifying system I have ever seen. I think Hans mentioned over 1000 bus routes in the city. When I first saw a bus map on the side of a terminal station, I thought it was a picture of a circuit board: thin lines of blue and red etching their way around the “map” in 90 degree turns. There were no streets on this map…it would have been to busy to read. Also, with all the routes, there must be hundreds of bus stops scattered throughout the city; you can’t walk 200 feet down a major street without passing a few bus stops.

Due to the complexity, it is difficult for me to figure out which bus I want. At every bus stop there is a sign three feet wide and six or seven feet tall. On each side of the sign there are four numbers. Each one of these numbers corresponds to a bus that makes a stop here. Under each of these "bus numbers" there is a list-- note that you read going up to down, so the list is formed from left to right-- with all the stops the bus takes. According to the list, a bus might make 20 or so stops, and each stop has a name of three to five characters long. So, if you can picture it, all these people huddled around this sign a little taller than me, trying to read the 2400 or so characters that the graffiti has covered up or the paint has eroded off.
Needless to say, until I know where a couple stops are and become a little better at reading Chinese, I won’t be using the bus alone.

With that said, I want to tell a funny story that happened on the bus.

Hans and I were headed to school for a meeting. We decided to take the bus as a new way to get there (besides train or bike). So, we get on the bus and take a seat in the back. A couple minutes into the ride, the bus gets into some traffic. The bus driver must have had a rough day, because he starts leaning on the horn. There was one long constant horn blast for at least a minute. I hear some angry Chinese come from the Bus driver and he pulls out of traffic, onto the side of the road. I thought we were at another stop, but the bus driver only opened the front door …and then the Bus driver turns off the bus, gets up, and leaves! The bus-load of people are confused. I could see from the back that a cop had waved him over to the side of the road. And now, I could hear them yelling at each other. I ask Hans to translate, but he refuses, telling me that there are “bad words”. The bus driver stomps back up into his seat, and attempts to restart the bus. The bus doesn’t start. He tries again; same thing. On the fourth try, the bus rumbles back to life, and we take off.


Advertisement



16th February 2006

Haha, thats funny. It must make you miss the T here, which might be hard to believe...
16th February 2006

Sounds like an SNL sketch
Just substitute Chris Farley for "angry Chinese bus driver". Hans sounds like a cool dude - find a way to smuggle him back here when you come back.
16th February 2006

I forced Dan to give me your blog info, Luke. Hope you don't mind a Newton Mom following your excellent adventure. Thank you for sharing your China trip with us, and keep up the good work - your entries are fun and interesting.
17th February 2006

: ) good job!
I'm glad you made your way onto the bus, and managed to get a seat! I was terrified by how people PUSH their way onto the bus when I was in Beijing. But it was years ago, and hopefully things have changed since then.
19th February 2006

Asians can't drive
On top of the traffic, the driver was probably pissed he had a white American on his bus. A white American named Luke Johnson. Also, this might have happened before you left, but the milk cartons in the cafeteria have been replaced with bottles that are always delicious. Enjoy your milk packets.
1st March 2006

Holla
hey it is amazing how cool your experiences are and we all miss u in our calc class. peace

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb